Mingus Ah Um (LP)

Mingus Ah Um (LP) cover
$40.00 Low Stock add to cart more by this artist

Charles Mingus
Mingus Ah Um (LP)

[ Music On Vinyl / LP ]

Release Date: Thursday 25 February 2010

Should this item be out of stock at the time of your order, we would expect to be able to supply it to you within 1 - 2 weeks.

When driving a band with his upright bass, Charles Mingus looked - and was - gigantic, in more ways than one. He had huge creative appetites (as well as being hot tempered), creating his own combination of hard bop, blues, and avant-garde jazz. There was no one more multi-faceted than Mingus between the 1950s and 1970s and of his many albums, Mingus Ah Um (1959) is considered to be a jazz classic.

When Columbia first issued this album, 6 of the 9 tracks were shortened drastically to fit them on the LP. Later reissues (on CD) have included the tracks in their original full length, but this edition of the album had not been released on vinyl yet. We are excited to release the album 50 years after its original conception, as it was intended by the Angry Man of Jazz himself.


Side A
1. Better Git It In Your Soul
2. Goodbye Pork Pie Hat
3. Boogie Stop Shuffle
4. Self-Portrait In Three Colors
5. Open Letter To Duke

Side B
1. Bird Calls
2. Fables Of Faubus
3. Pussy Cat Dues
4. Jelly Roll