Electrifying Aretha Franklin

Electrifying Aretha Franklin cover
$12.00 Out of Stock
2-6 weeks
add to cart more by this artist

Aretha Franklin
Electrifying Aretha Franklin

[ Hallmark / CD ]

Release Date: Monday 14 January 2013

This item is currently out of stock. We expect to be able to supply it to you within 2 - 4 weeks from when you place your order.

Aretha's second album for the Columbia label, The Electrifying Aretha Franklin still found the label unsure as to how to promote the singer, although this album was a step in the right direction. Producer John Hammond created something of an intimate atmosphere in the studio, yet some of the material would appear to be better suited to the stage. Yet towering above even the mediocre material is Aretha's voice, as strong and as powerful then as it would become later in the decade. Tracks like You Made Me Love You may be standards, but they are not standard Aretha Franklin, yet she manages to breathe life into each and every song.


1. You Made Me Love You
2. I Told You So
3. Rock-A-Bye Your Baby With A Dixie Melody
4. Nobody Like You
5. Exactly Like You
6. It's So Heartbreakin'
7. Rough Lover
8. Blue Holiday
9. Just For You
10. That Lucky Old Sun (Just Rolls Around Heaven All Day)
11. I Surrender, Dear
12. Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate the Positive