Faure: The complete songs of Faure Vol. 2

Faure: The complete songs of Faure Vol. 2 cover $32.00 Low Stock add to cart

Faure: The complete songs of Faure Vol. 2
Lorna Anderson, Nigel Cliffe, Ann Murray, John Chest, Iestyn Davies, Ben Johnson, Janis Kelly, Ann Murray

[ Signum Classics / CD ]

Release Date: Saturday 1 July 2017

Should this item be out of stock at the time of your order, we would expect to be able to supply it to you within 4 - 7 business days.

Pianist Malcolm Martineau brings together some of the UK's finest singers for the second release in a new series charting the complete songs of French composer Gabriel Fauré.

This series follows Martineau's well-received 5-CD series of The Complete Songs of Francis Poulenc.

Gramophone Award Finalist 2018 - Solo Vocal

"The pleasure in this series is the rich variety of singers... which creates the atmosphere of a recital among friends...with Malcolm Martineau ever an authoritative, agile and responsive pianist." The Observer

"The second instalment of Malcolm Martineau's survey of Fauré's songs is exceptionally beautiful, both in choice of material and quality of performance...Martineau's understanding of Fauré's piano-writing, in which less means more and virtuosity is avoided in favour of nuance, remains impeccable." Gramophone

"Malcolm Martineau, the mastermind behind the project, is, as always, the ideal accompanist. Roger Nichols's liner notes are a model and the recorded sound excellent. Readers who bought the first volume need not hesitate, and those who didn't are well advised to try this second instalment before buying volume one." MusicWeb Nov 2017


Rêve d'amour, Op. 5 No. 2
John Chest (baritone)

Janis Kelly (soprano)

Tarentelle Op. 10 No. 2
Janis Kelly (soprano), Lorna Anderson (soprano)

Puisqu'ici-bas toute âme Op. 10 No. 1
Janis Kelly (soprano), Lorna Anderson (soprano)

Aubade, Op. 6 No. 1
Ben Johnson (tenor)

Vocalise No. 7
Ann Murray (mezzo)

Barcarolle Op. 7 No. 3
Nigel Cliffe (baritone)

Notre amour Op. 23 No. 2
Lorna Anderson (soprano)

Le secret Op. 23 No. 3
Lorna Anderson (soprano)

Le pays des rêves Op. 39 No. 3
Janis Kelly (soprano)

Shylock Op. 57
Thomas Oliemans (baritone)

Vocalise No. 22
Lorna Anderson (soprano)

Dans la forêt de septembre Op. 85 No. 1
Thomas Oliemans (baritone)

La fleur qui va sur l'eau Op. 85 No. 2
Thomas Oliemans (baritone)

Accompagnement Op. 85 No. 3
Thomas Oliemans (baritone)

La chanson d'Ève, Op. 95
Sarah Connolly (mezzo)

Le plus doux chemin Op. 87 No. 1
Iestyn Davies (countertenor)

Le chanson d'Eve, Op. 95: No. 9, Crépuscule - Sarah Connolly