Yen Ara (LP)

Yen Ara (LP) cover
$40.00 In Stock add to cart more by this artist

Ebo Taylor
Yen Ara (LP)

[ Mr Bongo / LP ]

Release Date: Friday 27 April 2018

Ebo Taylor's new album, Yen Ara, marks the Ghanaian highlife and Afrobeat legend's 60th anniversary as a professional musician.

The 82-year-old composer, arranger, guitarist and vocalist has been a key figure in the evolving afro-funk sound since the 70's, working with the likes of Apagya Show Band, CK Mann and Pat Thomas.

Listen to Yen Ara and you will not only hear the high-energy afrobeat, sweet highlife, jazz and konkoma influences that he's famous for, there is also a disco pulse and hard-hitting percussive edge to the tracks, which were produced by Justin Adams (Tinariwen, Rachid Taha, Robert Plant).

Yen Ara features Taylor's group, the Saltpond City band, recorded live at Electric Monkey Studios in Amsterdam.


A1. Poverty No Good
A2. Mumudey Mumudey
A3. Krumandey
A4. Aboa Kyirbin
A5. Yen Ara

B1. Mind Your Own Business
B2. Ankoma'm
B3. Abenkwan Puchaa
B4. Aba Yaa