Navigator (LP)

Navigator (LP) cover $46.00 In Stock add to cart more by this artist

Che Fu
Navigator (LP)

[ Sony / LP ]

Release Date: Friday 19 October 2018

Che Fu's second solo album Navigator debuted at No.1 on the NZ music chart in 2001. "Che decided to create his own group, The Krates, to back him, initially bringing together some of his long-time collaborators: bassist Chip Matthews, drummer Paul Russell (from the original line-up of Supergroove), guitarist Brother Zeb (aka Brian Taite), and 12 Tribes of Israel's James Levi on samples, as well as the The Villajah MCs (Hazadus, Ras Daan, and Phatmospheric). He completed the line-up by adding experienced keyboards player Godfrey de Grut from The New Loungehead and DJ P-Money, who'd recently made a name for himself as a battle turntablist (winning the local ITFs three times and coming third at the international DMC comp).

In August 2001, Che Fu showed the power of his new group with the single 'Fade Away', which shot to No.2, supported by a video introducing the band (portraying them as World War Two soldiers taking a break to play some music). Local audiences were already primed for his album release, so rather than waiting for the next single, his album Navigator (2001) was released while 'Fade Away' was still in the charts and it debuted at No.1 (it would remain on the charts for nearly a year, reaching triple platinum)." - Gareth Shute, Audio Culture - pop over there to read the full article on Che Fu.

This album also produced two more Top 20 singles - Random and Misty Frequencies. He and Godfrey de Grut won the APRA Silver Scroll in 2002 for the latter.

An essential NZ album.


1. Misty Frequencies
2. Catch One
3. Random
4. Share The Info
5. The Abyss
6. Interlude 1

1. Top Floor
2. Hold Tight
3. He Kotahi (As One)
4. Full Immersion
5. The Mish
6. Fade Away

Listen to Fade Away