Bahir (LP)

Bahir (LP) cover
$40.00 Low Stock add to cart more by this artist

Dexter Story
Bahir (LP)

[ Soundway / LP ]

Release Date: Friday 15 March 2019

Should this item be out of stock at the time of your order, we would expect to be able to supply it to you within 2 - 5 business days.

New release from LA-based multi-instrumentalist and producer Dexter Story.

Described by Story as "a snapshot of the last few years of my immersive study of the Horn of Africa," Bahir's 13 tracks mix Ethiopian jazz, Tuareg grooves, ekista dance rhythms, Afro-funk, Somalian soul, and contemporary jazz influences.

The album includes collaborations with seven artists including Sudan Archives, Josef Leimberg, Miguel Atwood-Ferguson, and Ethiopian singer Hamelmal Abate, who lends her golden vocals to first single 'Shuruba Song'.

It follows his Wondem LP in 2015, which was also released by Soundway, as well as a single called 'Wejene Aola' featuring Kamasi Washington in 2018.


A1. Techawit
A2. Bila (feat. Kibrom Birhane)
A3. Gold (feat. Sudan Archives)
A4. Electric Gurage
A5. Mamdooh
A6. Buna Be Chow (feat. Jimetta Rose)
B1. Ras (feat. Haile Supreme)
B2. Jijiga Jijiya (feat. Marie Daulne)
B3. Desta's Groove
B4. Shuruba Song (feat. Hamelmal Abate)
B5. Bahir (feat. Endeguena Mulu)
B6. Abebaye (feat. Marie Daulne)