Voyager - Essential Max Richter

Voyager - Essential Max Richter cover
$35.00 Out of Stock
2-6 weeks
add to cart

Voyager - Essential Max Richter
Max Richter

[ Deutsche Grammophon / 2 CD ]

Release Date: Friday 18 October 2019

This first ever collection of the acclaimed British composer's work is comprised of original compositions from Richter's catalogue of successful solo albums, and his iconic TV and movie themes and soundtracks. This essential collection will also feature music from HBO's original series hit The Leftovers for the very first time and two previously unreleased bonus tracks from Sleep.

The 33 tracks feature works from Richter's studio albums such as 2004's acclaimed The Blue Notebooks, 2012's Recomposed By Max Richter: Vivaldi - The Four Seasons, and 2015's ground-breaking, eight-and-a-half-hour magnum opus Sleep. The anthology also features a selection from Richter's numerous film and TV scores including 2014's The Leftovers, which garnered the International Film Music Critics Award for Best Original Score For A Television Series, 2017's Taboo, nominated for an Emmy for Outstanding Music Composition For A Series, and last year's Mary Queen Of Scots, which earned him the Hollywood Music in Media Award.

Voyager: Essential Max Richter also features music from 2010's Infra, which originated as the celebrated score for Wayne McGregor's ballet of the same name, and a version of In The Garden - originally featured on 2017's Three Worlds: Music From Woolf Works, another ballet collaboration with McGregor. Mercy, which was recorded live by renowned American violinist Hilary Hahn, and an interpretation by Mari Samuelsen of November from Richter's 2002 debut Memoryhouse, are also included.

Max Richter is one of the most influential figures of the contemporary music scene, producing ground-breaking work as a recording artist, composer, pianist and collaborator. He studied composition and piano at Edinburgh University, the Royal Academy of Music and with Luciano Berio. He first earned a reputation during the 1990s, initially establishing himself with contemporary classical ensemble Piano Circus which he co-founded. His 2002 debut album Memoryhouse, recorded with the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra, was hailed as a masterpiece. His following release, 2004's The Blue Notebooks, was declared "a landmark work of contemporary classical music" by The Independent's Andy Gill. Recomposed By Max Richter: Vivaldi - The Four Seasons, was released in 2012 and topped the classical chart in 22 countries, and 2015's landmark eight-hour magnum opus Sleep was praised as among the best albums of the decade.

Richter has also written extensively for film and television with projects including Black Mirror, The Leftovers, My Brilliant Friend and Taboo, and most recently Hostiles, White Boy Rick and Mary Queen of Scots. In addition Richter has collaborated in other fields, notably installation art, theatre and dance - including with choreographer Wayne McGregor, currently Resident Choreographer of the Royal Ballet in London.

Having bridged the divide between electronica and classical music Richter has achieved something that has altogether altered the musical landscape. Voyager: Essential Max Richter provides a vital, career-spanning summary of this innovative composer's highly influential work.


CD 1
1 On the Nature of Daylight (The Blue Notebooks)
2 A Catalogue of Afternoons (The Blue Notebooks)
3 Spring 0 (Recomposed By Max Richter: Vivaldi, The Four Seasons)
4 Spring 1 (Recomposed By Max Richter: Vivaldi, The Four Seasons)
5 Autumn Music 2 (Songs From Before)
6 VI. Orlando: Modular Astronomy (Three Worlds: Music From Woolf Works)
7 Vladimir´s Blues (The Blue Notebooks)
8 November (Memoryhouse) // From Mari (Mari Samuelsen))
9 Dream 3 (in the midst of my life) (From Sleep)
10 Hope Strings Eternal (24 Postcards in Full Colour)
11 Iconography (The Blue Notebooks)
12 Circles From the Rue Simon - Crubellier (24 Postcards in Full Colour)
13 Infra 8 (Infra)
14 III. Mrs Dalloway: War Anthem (Three Worlds: Music From Woolf Works)
15 Lullaby From The Westcoast Sleepers (24 Postcards in Full Colour)
16 Sunlight (Songs From Before)
17 In The Garden (Spotify Singles)
18 Broken Symmetries For Y (24 Postcards in Full Colour)
19 Mercy - Live (Retrospective - Hilary Hahn)
20 Piano Solo Tracks (Sleep)

CD 2
1 Beginning and Ending (The Congress (OST)
2 The Departure (The Leftovers: Season 1 Music From the HBO Series)
3 The Inexorable Advance Of Mr. Delaney (Taboo Music From The Original TV Series)
4 The Young Mariner (The Young Mariner)
5 Trigger (White Boy Rick Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
6 Elena & Lila (My Brilliant Friend (TV Series Soundtrack)
7 A Blessing (The Leftovers: Season 1 Music From the HBO Series)
8 Ride To Marathon Station (White Boy Rick Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
9 Lamentation For A Lost Life (Taboo Music From The Original TV Series)
10 The Mind´s Eye Never Look Away (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
11 Where We Belong (Hostiles Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
12 A New Generation (Mary Queen Of Scots Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
13 On Reflection (Black Mirror - Nosedive Music From The Original TV Series)
14 Wheels Within Wheels (Miss Sloane Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
15 Your Reflection (My Brilliant Friend TV Series Soundtrack)
16 And Know The Place for The First Time (The Leftovers: Season 3 Music From the HBO Series)
17 A Woman Alone (Hostiles (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
18 Our Reflection (My Brilliant Friend (TV Series Soundtrack)
19 Wershe & Son (White Boy Rick Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
20 Miss Sloane Solo (Miss Sloane Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
21 The Departure (The Leftovers: Season 1 (Music From the HBO Series) // From Piano Book (Lang Lang)
22 I Will Not Forget You (Testament of Youth Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

Max Richter on November