Dixie Blur

Dixie Blur cover
$28.00 In Stock add to cart more by this artist

Jonathan Wilson
Dixie Blur

[ Bmg / Ada / CD ]

Release Date: Friday 27 March 2020

Jonathan Wilson, the critically-acclaimed artist, multi-instrumentalist and producer (Father John Misty, Laura Marling, Dawes), spent most of 2017-18 on Roger Waters' epic US+THEM tour as musical director, guitarist and vocalist, singing the David Gilmour leads.

Following the tour, Wilson chose to temporarily leave his Los Angeles-based home and studio and head to Nashville to work with a revered group of musicians and co-producer Pat Sansone of Wilco, to create Dixie Blur, his most personal, accessible and fully realized work to date. The songs harken back to his Southern roots, both musically and personally.

Dixie Blur was recorded at Cowboy Jack Clement's legendary Sound Emporium Studio with a core group of exceptional players that included Mark O'Connor (fiddle), Kenny Vaughan (guitar), Dennis Crouch (bass), Russ Pahl (pedal steel) and Jim Hoke (harmonica, woodwinds). Wilson and company recorded everything together live with no overdubs, a full 360 from his past methods.

The result is a stunning album filled with warm, thoughtful, melody-rich songs that have an immediate impact upon first hearing it and continues to grow with further listening. Following his past solo efforts Gentle Spirit, Fanfare and Rare Birds, Jonathan Wilson masterfully strikes a balance as he reaches back to the musical foundation of his upbringing while simultaneously moving forward by infusing the music with modern textures and aesthetic soundscapes, thus producing the aptly titled, Dixie Blur.


1. Just For Love
2. '69 Corvette
3. New Home
4. So Alive
5. In Heaven Making Love
6. Oh Girl
7. Pirate
8. Enemies
9. Fun For The Masses
10. Platform
11. Riding The Blinds
12. El Camino Real
13. Golden Apples
14. Korean Tea

69 Corvette