Liszt: Complete Organ Music

Liszt: Complete Organ Music cover $36.00 Low Stock add to cart

Liszt: Complete Organ Music
Adriano Falcioni (organ)

[ Brilliant Classics / 5 CD ]

Release Date: Friday 4 December 2020

Should this item be out of stock at the time of your order, we would expect to be able to supply it to you within 4 - 7 business days.

The most complete set ever recorded of Liszt's output for the organ: new recordings, made on the superb, recently restored instrument of Perugia Cathedral by a musician with a catalogue of critically acclaimed recordings on Brilliant Classics.

Liszt the piano virtuoso, the inventor of the orchestral symphonic poem, the apostle of 'the music of the future', is a familiar figure. Liszt the organ enthusiast is not so well known. His fondness for the instrument is shown by frequent references in his correspondence, by his transcriptions for it, and, most of all, by a handful of original masterpieces.

Liszt's first and largest work for the organ was the Fantasy and Fugue on Ad nos, ad salutarem undam, based on the chorale sung in the first act of Meyerbeer's opera Le Prophète. 'A kind of curiosity', he wrote to his publisher, but then later to a friend accounted for it as 'one of my least bad productions'. As well he might, for it is highly dramatic, full of fire and energy: the fugue is almost a symphonic poem in its own right, whose cumulative impact is succeeded only in his organ writing by the Prelude and Fugue on B-A-C-H.

Liszt's veneration for Bach also expressed itself in his other major original masterpiece for the instrument, the set of variations on the lamenting 'Weinen, Klagen, Sorgen, Zagen' cantata melody. His profound faith and fascination with the tonal rainbow afforded by the organ also inspired a great deal of lesser-known music, however, both original and transcribed. Allegri's Miserere receives a dramatic transcription, while the pellucid simplicity of Mozart's Ave verum is treated respectfully, like the Agnus dei from Verdi's Requiem. Indeed nearly all of Liszt's output for the organ shares a devotional quality quite foreign to its common use among 19th-century composers as a vehicle for volume and virtuosity.

Adriano Falcioni's recordings for Brilliant encompass many of the Romantic era's most celebrated organ composers. Praise in Fanfare for his previous albums: 'Falcioni clearly has the right feel for this repertoire, in tempos and registrations and ability to bind together phrases and sections into coherent larger wholes' (Reger, 95075). 'A top contender… Everything is idiomatically played by Adriano Falcioni on a fine instrument… Strongly recommended' (Brahms, 94460). Further praise for the Reger album, recorded on the same organ as the present set of Liszt, came from the Italian Organ Compendium: 'Highly recommended to our readers, who will find an excellent repertoire, a very good interpreter and an instrument of great interest.'


Fantasie und Fuge über den Choral "Ad nos, ad salutarem undam" S.259
based on a theme from the opera "Le prophète" by G. Meyerbeer (1850)
1. Moderato
2. Adagio
3. Allegro deciso - Fuge
Präludium und Fuge über B-A-C-H S.260 (1855)
4. Präludium
5. Fuge
6. "Weinen, Klagen, Sorgen, Zagen" S.179 (1859) - Variationen

CD 2
1. Évocation à la Chapelle Sixtine S.658 (1862-65?)
2. Der Papst-Hymnus S.766 (1865?)
3. Weimars Volkslied S.672(1857-63?)
4. Einleitung zur Legende der heiligen Elisabeth S.663a (1872)
5. Hosannah S.677 arr. of "Alleluja del Cantico del sol (1862-63)
6. Ave maria (gebet) S.667b (1842?)
7. "Nun danket alle gott" S.674b (1884)
Missa pro organo lectarum celebrationi missarum adjumento inserviens S.264 (1897)
8. Kyrie - Andante moderato
9. Gloria - Allegro
10. Graduale (ad libitum) - Andante pietoso
11. Credo - Andante maestoso
12. Offertorium - Ave Maria (ad libitum) - Andante
13. Sanctus - Maestoso
14. Benedictus - Molto lento
15. Agnus Dei - Lento assai
16. Preludium Zum Haus des Hernn
17. Offertorium aus der " Ungarischen Krönungemesse" S.667 (1868?)

CD 3
1. Orpheus S.672a (1869-72) - Symphonic Poem No.4
Einleitung, Fuge und Magnificat aus der Symphonie zu Dantes Divina commedia S.672b (1860)
2. Einleitung - Adagio, Andante, Un poco meno mosso
3. Fuga - Lamentoso
4. Magnificat - Più mosso ma non troppo, Un poco lento, Alla breve, Più mosso
5. "Tu es Petrus" aus dem Oratorium "Christus" S.664ii (1867) 5'39
6. Zur Trauung - "Sposalizio" S.671° (1883?)
7. Ave Maris Stella S.34i (1865-66)
8. Salve regina S.669/1 (1877)
9. Rosario S.670 (1879)
I Mysteria gaudiosa- Andante, un poco mosso
II Mysteria dolorosa - Andante, un poco lento
III Mysteria gloriosa - Andante, un poco animato
Weihnachtsbaum S186 (1874-76)
10. I. Psallite - Allegro non troppo
11. II. O heilige Nacht - Lento
12. III. Die Hirten an der Krippe - Allegretto pastorale
13. IV. Adeste Fideles - Tempo di marcia moderato

CD 4
1. Introitus S.268/1 (1884)
2. Les Morts - Oraison S.268/2 (1860)
3. Einleitung - "O Crux ave, spes unica" - Andante maestoso
4. Jesus meets his Holy Mother - Lento
5. Simon of Cyrene helps Jesus bear the cross - Andante
6. Jesus is stripped of his garments - Lento
7. Jesus is taken down from the cross - Andante moderato
8. Consolation D-flat
9. Consolation E
10. Resignazione S187a/I (c.1877)
Requiem für die Orgel S.266 (1883)
11. Requiem - Adagio Sostenuto
12. Dies Irae - Alla breve, molto mosso
13. Recordare Pie Jesu - Lento assai
14. Sanctus - Maestoso assai
15. Benedictus - Lento
16. Agnus Dei - Lento
17. Postludium - Lento
18. Gebet S.667b/ii (Ave Maria I) (1842)
19. Am Grabe Richard Wagners S.267 (1883)
20. San Francesco S.665 (1880)
21. Ora pro nobis - Litanei S262 (1864)
22. Ungarns Gott S674 (1861)
23. Andante religioso S.261a (1861)
24. Excelsior! - Preludio S.666 (1874-75)

CD 5
1. Kirchliche Fest-Ouvertüre arr. of "Ein feste Burg ist unser Gott" by O. Nicolai
2. Adagio vom Bach arr. of Violin Sonata No.4 BWV1017
3. Einleitung und Fuge from the Cantata "Ich hatte viel Bekümmernis" BWV21 by J.S. Bach
4. Andante from "Aus tiefer Not schrei ich zu dir" BWV38 by J.S. Bach
5. Ave Maria (d'Arcadelt) based on Pierre-Louis Dietsch's adaptation of a madrigal by J. Arcadelt
Two Preludes by F. Chopin
6. Prélude Op.28 No.4
7. Prélude Op.28 No.9
8. Regina coeli laetare arr. of the motet by O. De Lassus
9. Ave verum Corpus de Mozart arr. of "Ave verum corpus" K618 by W.A. Mozart
10. Agnus Dei della Messa da Requiem di Giuseppe Verdi based on No.5 of the Requiem by G. Verdi
11. Chor der jüngeren Pilger (Der Gnade Heil) based on the chorus "Heil! Heil! Der Gnade Wunder Heil!" from Act III of "Tannhäuser" WWV.70 by R. Wagner