Submarine Bells (Translucent Green Vinyl LP)

Submarine Bells (Translucent Green Vinyl LP) cover
$45.00 Out of Stock
2-6 weeks
add to cart more by this artist

The Chills
Submarine Bells (Translucent Green Vinyl LP)

[ Flying Nun / LP ]

Release Date: Friday 15 January 2021

This item is currently out of stock. We expect to be able to supply it to you within 1 - 2 weeks from when you place your order.

Submarine Bells the iconic early album from The Chills' catalogue has been remastered for a super sweet moment of ear candy, perfect for rediscovery - out on translucent green coloured vinyl.

Fronted by the rare talent of Martin Phillipps, The Chills were originally formed in 1980 and had a revolving cast of band members, with Phillipps remaining the only constant. His knack for writing fantastic pop songs led to chart hits back home and a cult following around the world. With their early releases via Flying Nun Records, The Chills produced a number of critically acclaimed recordings such as the single 'Pink Frost' (their first hit) from the compilation album Kaleidoscope World and 'Wet Blanket' from the LP Brave Words.

Martin has a single-minded determination to take quality, original NZ-sounding, melodic rock music global. His requirement of band members has been to meet a standard of musicianship, which is necessary to deliver The Chills songs with essential consistent energy. This determination stems from the punk rock ethics of Martin's musical awakening and from the subsequent proximity to people like Chris Knox who drove home how crucial it was to deliver music always with intensity and conviction. This live energy is the central reason why The Chills are remembered fondly in all of the thirty-nine countries that they have thus far visited. It's the combination of this AND the consistent quality of their songs which have established The Chills as one of the most well-known New Zealand groups to date.


A1 Heavenly Pop Hit
A2 Tied Up In Chain
A3 The Oncoming Day
A4 Part Past Part Fiction
A5 Singing In My Sleep
A6 I Soar

B1 Dead Web
B2 Familiarity Breeds Contempt
B3 Don't Be - Memory
B4 Effloresce And Deliquesce
B5 Sweet times
B6 Submarine Bells

Heavenly Pop Hit