Soft Bomb (Opaque Blue Vinyl LP)

Soft Bomb (Opaque Blue Vinyl LP) cover
$45.00 In Stock add to cart more by this artist

The Chills
Soft Bomb (Opaque Blue Vinyl LP)

[ Flying Nun / LP ]

Release Date: Friday 15 January 2021

Back in the Flying Nun vinyl catalogue for the first time in almost three decades, you can now get your hands on this much sought after reissue; Soft Bomb is available on either opaque orange or opaque blue vinyl - pressed in New Zealand, thanks to Holiday Records.

Fronted by the rare talent of Martin Phillipps, The Chills were originally formed in 1980 and had a revolving cast of band members, with Phillipps remaining the only constant. His knack for writing fantastic pop songs led to chart hits back home and a cult following around the world. With their early releases via Flying Nun Records, The Chills produced a number of critically acclaimed recordings such as the single 'Pink Frost' (their first hit) from the compilation album Kaleidoscope World and 'Wet Blanket' from the LP Brave Words.

Martin has a single-minded determination to take quality, original NZ-sounding, melodic rock music global. His requirement of band members has been to meet a standard of musicianship, which is necessary to deliver The Chills songs with essential consistent energy. This determination stems from the punk rock ethics of Martin's musical awakening and from the subsequent proximity to people like Chris Knox who drove home how crucial it was to deliver music always with intensity and conviction. This live energy is the central reason why The Chills are remembered fondly in all of the thirty-nine countries that they have thus far visited. It's the combination of this AND the consistent quality of their songs which have established The Chills as one of the most well-known New Zealand groups to date.


A1 The Male Monster From The Id
A2 Background Affair
A3 Ocean Ocean
A4 Soft Bomb
A5 There is No Harm in Trying
A6 Strange Case
A7 Soft Bomb II
A8 So Long
A9 Song For Randy Newman Etc.

B1 Sleeping Giants
B2 Double Summer
B3 Sanctuary
B4 Halo Fading
B5 There is No Point in Trying
B6 Entertainer
B7 Water Wolves
B8 Soft Bomb III