The Man Who Sold The World (Picture Disc 12")

The Man Who Sold The World (Picture Disc 12") cover
$60.00 Low Stock add to cart more by this artist

David Bowie
The Man Who Sold The World (Picture Disc 12")

[ PLGUK / Warner / 12in ]

Release Date: Friday 28 May 2021

Should this item be out of stock at the time of your order, we would expect to be able to supply it to you within 2 - 5 business days.

12" picture disc for the 50th anniversary of the original U.K. release of David Bowie's landmark entry into the 1970s. Features the 2015 remastered audio of the original album.

Even though it contained no hits, The Man Who Sold the World, for most intents and purposes, was the beginning of David Bowie's classic period. Working with guitarist Mick Ronson and producer Tony Visconti for the second time Bowie developed a tight, twisted heavy guitar rock that appears simple on the surface but sounds more gnarled upon each listen. The mix is off-center, with the fuzz-bass dominating the compressed, razor-thin guitars and Bowie's strangled, affected voice.

The sound of The Man Who Sold the World is odd, but the music itself is bizarre, with Bowie's weird, paranoid futuristic tales melded to Ronson's riffing and the band's relentless attack. Musically, there isn't much innovation on The Man Who Sold the World -- it is almost all hard blues-rock or psychedelic folk-rock -- but there's an unsettling edge to the band's performance, which makes the record one of Bowie's best albums.
All Music Guide


A1. The Width of a Circle (2015 Remaster)
A2. All the Madmen (2015 Remaster)
A3. Black Country Rock (2015 Remaster)
A4. After All (2015 Remaster)
B1. Running Gun Blues (2015 Remaster)
B2. Saviour Machine (2015 Remaster)
B3. She Shook Me Cold (2015 Remaster)
B4. The Man Who Sold the World (2015 Remaster)
B5. The Supermen (2015 Remaster)