British Composer Awards 2013 shortlist revealed - Thu, 24 Oct 2013

The British Academy of Songwriters, Composers and Authors has named the 39 works shortlisted for the 11th British Composer Awards, sponsored by PRS for Music in association with BBC Radio 3. On December 3, 2013 the winners of the 13 categories - including Chamber, Vocal, Choral, Orchestral and Stage Work - will be announced at a ceremony held at Goldsmiths' Hall in London.

The Awards 'seek to promote the art of composition, to recognise the creative talent of composers who live and work in the UK, and to bring contemporary classical and jazz music to a wider audience'. All nominated works must have been completed within the past five years and have received a public performance in the past year. Each category is judged by a different jury, with more than 70 music professionals involved in the process.

This year over 300 works were submitted by over 200 composers. Only one composer appears twice in the shortlist of 39: Gabriel Jackson, who won the Choral category in 2009 and 2012, appears on this year's Choral shortlist for Choral Symphony and the Liturgical shortlist for Cantate Domino. Other shortlisted composers include Sir Harrison Birtwistle, Benjamin Wallfisch, Colin Matthews, James MacMillan, Raymond Yiu, Orlando Gough, George Benjamin - and Jonathan Harvey and Sir Richard Rodney Bennett, both nominated posthumously.

'The British Composer Awards have passed their 10th birthday and there is every sign that the next 10 years will be as rich and rewarding as the first,' said Awards chairman Sarah Rodgers. 'BASCA is delighted to continue its successful association with PRS for Music and BBC Radio 3, and deeply committed to serving Britain's composers by providing this annual platform for the celebration of new classical and jazz music.'

BBC Radio 3 will broadcast full coverage of the Awards on December 7. For full details of all the shortlisted nominees visit

Sir Harrison Birtwistle won the Orchestral British Composer Award in 2012 - and is nominated again in 2013 (photo: Mark Allan)

URLs relating to this story

Read the original article here

Have a noteworthy story we should know about?

We welcome you to submit your news for us to share.

Submit your story