Hexbreaker! / Speed Connection Live in Paris 1985

Hexbreaker! / Speed Connection Live in Paris 1985 cover $27.00 Out of Stock
2-6 weeks
add to cart more by this artist

The Fleshtones
Hexbreaker! / Speed Connection Live in Paris 1985

[ Raven Records / CD ]

Release Date: Monday 21 March 2011

Raven presents two stunning albums from one of America's original, and longest-running, garage-rock bands, self-proclaimed Living Legends, The Fleshtones. Released together on one CD for the first time, Hexbreaker! (1983) and Speed Connection Live in Paris 85 (1985) define the band at its peak.

Formed in 1976 in Queens, New York by vocalist Peter Zaremba and guitarist Keith Streng, the Fleshtones combined fuzzed guitar and Farfisa organ with 50s rockabilly and 60s R&B into a potent retro stew they called 'Super Rock'. Contemporaries of Suicide and the Cramps on the late-70s NY scene, the group became a huge influence on early '80s garage-rock revivalists Dream Syndicate, Plimsouls, Hoodoo Gurus etc. Amazingly, they are still at it today, finally garnering respect for being as raucous as ever. 'Hexbreaker!' and 'Speed Connection Live in Paris 85' were recorded for Miles Copeland's record label I.R.S. Highlights include the frat-rocking 'Hide and Seek', the whomping 'Screamin' Skull', the moody 'Hexbreaker', the Standells-like 'Stop Fooling Around' and tasty covers of 'Burnin' Hell', 'Twelve Months Later' and 'La La La La'. Many tracks are appearing on CD for the first time.

"Energetic, freewheelin' and street-smart, the Fleshtones are cool, smart, witty, they rock pretty hard and their music sounds great at a party."
-All Music Guide.

With superb quality audio, detailed notes and color booklet, this excellent release is a must for fans of irresistible, reverb-drenched garage / R&B.


Hexbreaker! (1983):
1. Deep In My Heart
2. What'S So New (About You)?
3. Screamin' Skull
4. (Legend Of A) Wheelman
5. New Scene
6. Hexbreaker
7. Right Side Of A Good Thing
8. Brainstorm
9. This House Is Empty
10. Want!
11. Burnin' Hell

Speed Connection Live In Paris 85 (1985):
1. Hide And Seek
2. Watch This
3. Kingsmen Like Medley: Trouble / Haunted Castle / Twelve Months Later
4. Return To The Haunted House
5. Let'S See The Sun
6. Hope Come Back
7. B.Y.O.B.
8. This House Is Empty
9. Last Chance
10. Stop Fooling Around
11. Super Rock Medley: Theme From The Vindicators / Hexbreaker / Roman Gods
12. I'm Back
13. La La La La