The Hoffnung Music Festival Concert / Oxford Union Speech

The Hoffnung Music Festival Concert / Oxford Union Speech cover $18.00 Out of Stock
2-6 weeks
add to cart

The Hoffnung Music Festival Concert / Oxford Union Speech
Gerard Hoffnung

[ Regis Records / CD ]

Release Date: Friday 15 July 2011

This item is currently out of stock. We expect to be able to supply it to you within 2 - 4 weeks from when you place your order.


Regis' disc of Gerard Hoffnung features the two LP recordings for which he is most renowned: the 1956 concert at the Royal Festival Hall, The Hoffnung Music Festival Concert and his 1958 address to the Oxford Union which features the famous Bricklayer's Lament.


The Hoffnung Music Festival Concert, Royal Festival Hall 13th November 1956
1. Speech by Mr T E Bean, General Manager of the Royal Festival Hall
2. Francis Baines: Fanfare
Trumpeters of the Royal Military School of Music conducted by the composer
3. Malcolm Arnold: A Grand Grand Overture
Hoffnung (alias Morley College) Symphony Orchestra conducted by the composer
4. Leopold Mozart: Concerto for Hose-pipe and Strings, third movement
Dennis Brain (hose-pipe), Hoffnung Symphony Orchestra / Norman del Mar
5. Franz Reizenstein: Concerto popolare (A Piano Concerto to End All Piano Concertos)
Yvonne Arnaud (piano), Hoffnung Symphony Orchestra / Norman del Mar
6. Haydn arr. Donald Swann: Symphony No.94 in G 'Surprise', Andante
Soloists: members of the BBC Music Division, Hoffnung Symphony Orchestra / Lawrence Leonard
7. Speech by Gerard Hoffnung
8. Chopin arr. Daniel Abrams: Mazurka No.47 in A minor Op. 68 No. 2
Tuba Quartet
9. Humphrey Searle: Lochinvar for speakers and percussion to words by Sir Walter Scott
Speakers Yvonne Arnaud and Gerard Hoffnung / Lawrence Leonard
Gordon Jacob: Variations on 'Annie Laurie'
10. Theme (Alerto, ma non troppo)
11. Variation 1 (Poco inglesemente)
12. Variation 2 (Molto zingaresemente)
13. Variation 3 (Alla gigolo)
14. Variation 5 (Finale: Assai)
Festival Ensemble conducted by the composer

Hoffnung at the Oxford Union, December 4th 1958
15. Part I
16. Part II