Bach For Japan

Bach For Japan cover $35.00 Out of Stock
2-6 weeks
add to cart

Bach For Japan
Bach Collegium Japan chorus & orchestra, Masaaki Suzuki

[ BIS / CD ]

Release Date: Thursday 1 March 2012

This item is currently out of stock. We expect to be able to supply it to you within 2 - 4 weeks from when you place your order.

In support of TOHOKU HELP, aiding the victims of the 2011 Tohoku earthquake and tsunami.

This compilation has been produced by Bach Collegium Japan and Masaaki Suzuki as part of their ongoing work to support the victims of the earthquake and tsunami off the Pacific coast of Japan in March 2011.

This selection comprises arias from Bach Collgium Japan's ongoing cycle of the complete church cantatas, as well as instrumental movements, the motet Komm, Jesu, komm, and three organ chorales recorded by Masaaki Suzuki especially for this release.

The disc is being sold for the benefit of 'TOHOKU HELP', a local relief effort organized by the Sendai Christian Alliance, with the performers donating their royalties and BIS Records contributing the same amount.

"The order of pieces makes for a thoroughly seamless, always engaging programme" (MusicWeb International, July 2012)


1. Sinfonia from Ich steh mit einem Fuß im Grabe, BWV156 2'46
2. Ich steh mit einem Fuß im Grabe, BWV156/2: aria & chorale 6'14
3. Sonatina from Gottes Zeit ist die allerbeste Zeit, BWV106 3'09
4. Die Seele ruht in Jesu Händen, BWV127/3: aria 7'57
5. Herzlich tut mich verlangen, BWV727: organ chorale 2'28
6. In deine Hände befehl ich meinen Geist, BWV106/3a: aria / Heute wirst du mit mir im Paradies sein, BWV106/3b: arioso & chorale 5'54
7. Air from Orchestral Suite No.3 in D major, BWV1068 4'40
8. Bete aber auch dabei, BWV115/4: aria 7'09
9. Wenn wir in höchsten Nöten sein, BWV641: organ chorale 2'24
10. Vergnügte Ruh, beliebte Seelenlust, BWV170/1: aria 6'37
11. Süßer Trost, mein Jesus kömmt, BWV151/1: aria 8'30
12. Ich ruf zu Dir, Herr Jesu Christ, BWV639: organ chorale 2'23
13. Wie zittern und wanken, BWV105/3: aria 6'06
14. Es ist vollbracht, BWV159/4: aria 5'52
15. Komm, Jesu, komm, BWV229: motet 8'15