Waiata cover
$15.00 In Stock add to cart

Kiri Te Kanawa (soprano) with the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra

[ Sony / CD ]

Release Date: Friday 15 November 2013

In 1999 Dame Kiri Te Kanawa released 'Maori Songs', her second collection of Maori folk songs and prayers. That project was initiated by prominent NZ pianist/arranger Carl Doy, who has 13 years later created the follow up album 'Waiata'. After many months of planning Dame Kiri returned to NZ in July to record her vocals for the album at Carl's Brown's Bay home studio. Carl Doy had earlier scored the accompaniments for our own NZSO and the Auckland University's Chamber Choir, with renowned actor and Maori speaker George Henare as 'guide and philosopher'.


1. Tama Ngakau Marie (Son of a Peaceful Heart)
2. Karu Karu (Expectation)
3. Haere E Hine (Farewell My Lady Fair)
4. He Puti Puti Koe (To a Lovely Flower)
5. Maringi Noa (I Weep for Your Return)
6. Awe Maria (Hail Mary)
7. E Te Ariki (Our Lord - Watch over Us)
8. He Wawata (The Days of Yearning)
9. Te Taniwha (The God of the Sea)
10. Whakaaria Mai (How Great Thou Art)
11. E Te Iwi E (Call to the People)
12. Kohu-Auahi (Blue Smoke)
13. Aue E Te Iwi E (The Pride of Our Maori People)
14. Kamate (Darkness into Light)
15. Tirohia Mokoia (Look to the Island)
16. Ehara Te Waea (Love Never Breaks)