Landscape Preludes

Landscape Preludes cover
$30.00 In Stock add to cart

Landscape Preludes
Henry Wong Doe (piano)

[ Rattle Records / CD ]

Release Date: Friday 25 July 2014

Commissioned by pianist Stephen De Pledge, Landscape Preludes is a suite of twelve works for solo piano from some of New Zealand's most renowned composers. De Pledge debuted the preludes in 2008, but until now they haven't been recorded collectively for album release. Versions of Victoria Kelly's Goodnight Kiwi and John Psathas' Sleeper have appeared on earlier Rattle releases (Michael Houstoun's Inland and John Psathas' Ukiyo respectively), but we are delighted to now present the complete suite, here performed by New Zealand pianist Henry Wong Doe in his Rattle debut.

Produced by Kenneth Young
Recorded by Steve Garden at the Adam Concert Room, Wellington University
Piano tuning by Michael Ashby
Mixed and mastered by Steve Garden
Design by UnkleFranc

"If you buy just one classical CD this year, make it Landscape Preludes." William Dart NZ Herald

"Landscape Preludes consists of 12 piano pieces composed between 2003 and 2007 by 12 different composers from New Zealand. They were commissioned by the New Zealand-based pianist Stephen De Pledge, who also gave their premieres. Their first CD recording, however, features another pianist, Henry Wong Doe, a New Zealand native based in the United States. In his booklet notes, Doe mentions that he learned the pieces quickly, and without referring to De Pledge's recordings (available on YouTube). He certainly seems to have mastered the notes and assimilated the music to the highest standards. No doubt that other composers are lined up at Doe's door." (9 / 9 ClassicsToday Oct 2014)


Arapatiki (1:40) Gillian Whitehead
Chiaroscuro (3:26) Lyell Cresswell
Goodnight Kiwi (6:16) Victoria Kelly
1942 Machine Noise (5:31) Michael Norris
Reign (3:00) Dylan Lardelli
Sleeper (5:27) John Psathas
Terrain Vague (3:50) Samuel Holloway
The Horizon from Owhiro Bay (3:07) Gareth Farr
The Street Where I Live (3:29) Jack Body
this liquid drift of light (6:12) Eve de Castro-Robinson
Tone Clock Piece XVIII - Landscape Prelude (6:07) Jenny McLeod
Piano Prelude - A landscape with too few lovers (2:35) Ross Harris