All For You (2LP)

All For You (2LP) cover
$65.00 Low Stock add to cart more by this artist

Diana Krall
All For You (2LP)

[ Verve Records LP / 2 LP ]

Release Date: Friday 22 July 2016

Should this item be out of stock at the time of your order, we would expect to be able to supply it to you within 2 - 4 weeks.

Pianist/vocalist Diana Krall pays tribute to the Nat King Cole Trio on her Impulse! set. In general, the medium and up-tempo tunes work best, particularly such hot ditties as "I'm an Errand Girl for Rhythm," "Frim Fram Sauce," and "Hit That Jive Jack." Krall does not attempt to directly copy Cole much (either pianistically or vocally), although his influence is obviously felt on some of the songs. The slow ballads are actually as reminiscent of Shirley Horn as Cole, particularly the somber "I'm Through With Love" and "If I Had You." Guitarist Russell Malone gets some solo space on many of the songs and joins in on the group vocal of "Hit That Jive Jack," although it is surprising that he had no other opportunities to interact vocally with Krall; a duet could have been delightful. Bassist Paul Keller is fine in support, pianist Benny Green backs Krall's vocal on "If I Had You," and percussionist Steve Kroon is added on one song. Overall, this is a tasteful effort that succeeds.


Side One:
1. I'm an Errand Girl for Rhythm
2. Gee Baby, Ain't I Good to You
3. You Call It Madness (But I Call It Love)

Side Two:
1. Frim Fram Sauce
2. The Boulevard of Broken Dreams
3. Baby, Baby All the Time

Side Three:
1. Hit That Jive, Jack!
2. You're Looking at Me
3. I'm Through with Love

Side Four:
1. 'Deed I Do
2. A Blossom Fell
3. If I Had You