Rostropovich Encores

Rostropovich Encores cover
$30.00 Out of Stock
2-6 weeks
add to cart

Rostropovich Encores
Alban Gerhardt (cello) Markus Becker (piano)

[ Hyperion / CD ]

Release Date: Friday 20 January 2017

This item is currently out of stock. We expect to be able to supply it to you within 2 - 4 weeks from when you place your order.

For the young Alban Gerhardt, Rostropovich was 'a reason to become passionate about the cello': in the notes accompanying this release he recalls being 'blown away' on first hearing Slava play live in Berlin. This splendid follow-up to 'Casals Encores' sees Gerhardt paying homage to his great predecessor with an eclectic programme of shorter works, including two by Rostropovich himself.

"A genuinely thoughtful and engaging tribute recital, and a compelling partner to the Casals." Gramophone Editor's Choice Jan 2017

"[Gerhardt] matches [Rostropovich] note-for-note, with a degree of eye-watering finesse that would have surely made his hero smile. The same can be said for the mercurial moto perpetuo of Christian Singing's Presto and the student Rostropovich's own hilarious, gravity-defying Humoresque (a killer encore)" BBC Music Five Stars


1 Humoresque Op 5 ROSTROPOVICH [2'10]
2 Adagio from Cinderella PROKOFIEV [4'53]
3 Presto from Suite, Op 10 SINDING [1'59]
4 Oriental dance Op 2 No 2 RACHMANINOV [6'44]

Pas de deux from Divertimento STRAVINSKY, arr DUSHKIN & ROSTROPOVICH [6'59]
5 Adagio [3'50]
6 Variation and Coda [3'09]
7 March from The love of three oranges PROKOFIEV, arr ROSTROPOVICH [1'45]
8 Vocalise Op 34 No 14 RACHMANINOV [6'24]
9 Clair de lune from Suite bergamasque DEBUSSY, arr ROSTROPOVICH [5'05]
10 Étude in B flat minor Op 8 No 11 SCRIABIN, arr PIATIGORSKY [4'14]
11 Waltz-Coda from Cinderella PROKOFIEV, arr ROSTROPOVICH [2'52]
12 Russian maiden's song from Mavra STRAVINSKY, arr MARKEVITCH [3'40]
13 Elfentanz Op 39 POPPER [2'35]
14 Nocturne et scherzo DEBUSSY [5'24]
15 Étude in C sharp minor Op 25 No 7 CHOPIN, arr GLAZUNOV [6'21]
16 Minstrels from Préludes I DEBUSSY, arr ROSTROPOVICH [3'01]
17 Pièce en forme de habanera RAVEL [3'07]
18 Moderato ROSTROPOVICH [3'05] solo cello