Rest cover
$25.00 Low Stock add to cart more by this artist

Charlotte Gainsbourg

[ Because Music / CD ]

Release Date: Friday 17 November 2017

Should this item be out of stock at the time of your order, we would expect to be able to supply it to you within 4 - 7 business days.

Charlotte Gainsbourg's fourth studio album is produced by SebastiAn (Frank Ocean, Kavinsky), aside from the title track (composed and co-written by Daft Punk's Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo), and 'Songbird in a Cage', (composed and written by Paul McCartney). Rest also features collaborations with Owen Pallett and Connan Mockasin.

SebastiAn's background in electronic music accorded with Gainsbourg's desire for a sound with a disquieting, mechanistic edge, inspired by Giorgio Moroder and, perhaps unsurprisingly for a revered, award-winning film actress, movie soundtracks-particularly Pino Donaggio's score for Brian De Palma's '70s horror classic Carrie, Georges Delerue's music for Jean-Luc Godard's nouvelle vague masterpiece Le Mépris, as well as the unsettling ambience of films like Stanley Kubrick's The Shining and Hitchcock's Rebecca.

The album's first single is the title track, 'Rest,' produced and co-written with Guy-Manuel de Homem-Christo. 'Rest' is a poignant, modern lullaby-like song, steering Gainsbourg toward a forensically focused approach to lyric writing. "Those were the first words that I actually sang on the album," she explains. "I came in with all my bunches of lyrics… It was too much, really, and Guy-Man was saying, 'you can't say all that, you have to simplify it,' and he reduced it to three words! It felt so innocent in a way, but it was exactly what I needed at that time."


1. Ring-A-Ring O' Roses
2. Lying With You
3. Kate
4. Deadly Valentine
5. I'm A Lie
6. Rest
7. Sylvia Says
8. Songbird In A Cage
9. Dans Vos Airs
10. Les Crocodiles
11. Les Oxalis

Listen to Rest via Youtube