Schubert: Trout Quintet / Piano Trio "Notturno" / etc

Schubert: Trout Quintet / Piano Trio "Notturno" / etc cover
$35.00 Out of Stock
add to cart

Schubert: Trout Quintet / Piano Trio "Notturno" / etc
Anne-Sophie Mutter (violin) with Danil Trifonov (piano) & Maximilian Hornung (cello)

[ Deutsche Grammophon / CD ]

Release Date: Friday 17 November 2017

Two stars from different generations, artists of the highest calibre, mark their first collaboration with an album devoted to one of the supreme landmarks of classical music.

Anne-Sophie Mutter, who in 2016 celebrated the 40th anniversary of her professional debut, and Daniil Trifonov, now in his mid-twenties, joined forces with three outstanding young string playing alumni of the Mutter Foundation at the Baden-Baden Festspielhaus in June to perform Schubert's Piano Quintet in A major, popularly known as the "Trout" Quintet.

They also explored the composer's Notturno, a sublime late work for violin, cello and piano, and arrangements of his songs Ständchen and Ave Maria for violin and piano

"Schubert's adorable Trout Quintet emerges as more of a shark, or at least a dolphin…But it is emphatically domestic music, and the thing that strikes you as soon as this disc starts is the dynamic scale of the performance, the huge sound that the violinist and the pianist are getting out o their instruments, as if they take it for granted that they are play8ing in a large concert-hall." BBC Music

"This Trout is clearly in a fast-flowing river, the first movement bubbling with excitement from the off, Trifonov's triplets tripping effortlessly along. While it's scintillating in its clarity, the big climax, where the pianist bursts into fortissimo semiquavers sound just too rushed…Exciting or just a touch aggressive? It's a taste thing." Gramophone


Franz Schubert - Piano Quintet in a Major, Op. 114, D 667 - "The Trout"
1. Allegro Vivace
2. Andante
3. Scherzo (Presto)
4. Thema - Andantino - Variazioni I-V - Allegretto
5. Finale (Allegro Giusto)

6. Franz Schubert - Notturno for Piano, Violin and Violoncello in E Flat Major, Op. 148, D 897
7. Schwanengesang, D. 957 4. Ständchen in D minor (Arr. for Violin and Piano)
8. Ellens Gesang III, Op. 52, No.6, D 839 8 Ave Maria in B Flat Major (Arr. for Violin and Piano)

Anne-Sophie Mutter & Daniil Trifonov - Schubert: Forellenquintet /Trout Quintet