The Wagner Project

The Wagner Project cover
$38.00 In Stock add to cart

The Wagner Project
Matthias Goerne (baritone) / The Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra, Daniel Harding

[ Harmonia Mundi / 2 CD ]

Release Date: Friday 17 November 2017

Thanks to the combined talents of Matthias Goerne and Daniel Harding at the head of the excellent Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra, the music of Richard Wagner glows here with a special radiance. In the finest scenes for baritone or bass from Tristan und Isolde, Der fliegende Holländer, Parsifal and other operas, the themes dear to the composer (gods, men and redemption) inspire him to deploy supreme expressive resources and show the incontestable genius of this born orchestrator in a new light.

"Goerne does misery masterfully … As Goerne's Wotan kisses Brünnhilde to sleep, the moment is so intimate that (depending on your speakers) you might even feel a peck on the cheek. Yet this isn't a god to terrify or awe you. Once heard, however, Goerne's Wagner is hard to shift from your mind: he has something new to bring to this repertory and his next steps with it onstage should be fascinating if he can find the right partners." Gramophone

"He's an unusually tender Wotan bidding farewell to his daughter, a contemplative rather than bluff Hans Sachs...he lavishes velvet tone and insightful attention to text on extracts for Wolfram, Amfortas and King Marke. The surprise is his Flying Dutchman, uncompromisingly and gloriously fierce." The Guardian

"Goerne in ferocious form … invested with so much power, intelligence and vocal and orchestral colour … a seductive set of highlights with Harding and the Swedes matching Goerne even in the most lingering tempi." Record Review


CD 1: Of Gods And Men

Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg (1868)
1 Vorspiel (III)
2 Sachs : Wie duftet doch der Flieder (II)

Tristan und Isolde (1865)
3 Vorspiel
4 Marke : Tatest du's wirklich? (II, 3)
5 Isoldes Liebestod (III)

Das Rheingold (1869)
6 Wotan : Abendlich strahlt (4)

Die Walküre (1870)
7 Wotan : Leb' wohl, du kühnes herrliches Kind! (III, 3)

CD 2: Redemption
Der fliegende Holländer (1843)
1 Ouverture
2 Holländer : Die Frist ist um, und abermals verstrichen (I, 2 "Monolog")

Tannhaüser, und der Sängerkrieg auf dem Wartburg (1845)
3 Wolfram : Wie Todesahnung, Dämm'rung deckt die Lande (II, 2)

Parsifal (1882)
4 Vorspiel (I)
5 Amfortas Ja - Wehe! Wehe! Weh' über mich! (III)
6 Karfreitags-Zauber (III)