Schumann & Mendelssohn: Piano Concertos

Schumann & Mendelssohn: Piano Concertos cover
$37.00 Out of Stock
2-6 weeks
add to cart

Schumann & Mendelssohn: Piano Concertos
Ingrid Fliter (piano) Scottish Chamber Orchestra, Antonio Méndez

[ Linn Records / CD ]

Release Date: Friday 12 July 2019

This item is currently out of stock. We expect to be able to supply it to you within 2 - 4 weeks from when you place your order.

Ingrid Fliter thrills her fans with her second recording of piano concertos; she performs with the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, with whom she recorded her Linn debut of Chopin concertos. Fliter performs repertoire that is very close to her heart: concertos by two nineteenth century heavyweights, Schumann and Mendelssohn. Fliter brings the lyrical romanticism of Schumann's iconic Piano Concerto to life whilst perfectly navigating the shifting colours and technical demands of this brilliant showpiece. The sparkling passagework and charming melodies which characterise Mendelssohn's innovative G minor concerto demonstrate Fliter's innate skill and pianistic instinct. Following Fliter's live performance of the Mendelssohn concerto one critic wrote: "In the beautiful second movement, time stood still." With both composers giving equal focus to soloist and orchestra, the musicality of the SCO's award-winning musicians shines through as they partner Fliter perfectly. This also marked the recording debut of Antonio Méndez, who is fast becoming one of the most exciting conductors of his generation following engagements with a host of international orchestras.


1 Piano Concerto in A Minor, Op. 54: I. Allegro affettuoso
2 Piano Concerto in A Minor, Op. 54: II. Intermezzo
3 Piano Concerto in A Minor, Op. 54: III. Allegro vivace

4 The Fair Melusina: Overture, Op. 32 (1835 Version)
5 Piano Concerto No. 1 in G Minor, Op. 25: I. Molto allegro con fuoco
6 Piano Concerto No. 1 in G Minor, Op. 25: II. Andante
7 Piano Concerto No. 1 in G Minor, Op. 25: III. Presto; Molto allegro e vivace