Lieder (Brahms, Schumann, Mahler)

Lieder (Brahms, Schumann, Mahler) cover
$33.00 In Stock add to cart

Lieder (Brahms, Schumann, Mahler)
Renée Fleming (soprano) Hartmut Höll (piano)

[ Decca / CD ]

Release Date: Friday 21 June 2019

Four-time Grammy winning soprano Renée Fleming presents her first full-length Lieder album for almost two decades.

The new album, Lieder, features songs by Brahms, Schumann, and Mahler, each of whom bring Romantic poetry to life through exquisite word-setting and sublime melody. Fleming is joined by Christian Thielemann and the Munich Philharmonic in a breathtaking performance of Mahler's Rückert Lieder. For songs of Brahms, including the beloved Brahms' Lullaby, she is partnered by her long-standing artistic collaborator Hartmut Höll on piano. Fleming and Höll also perform Schumann's Frauenliebe und-leben, recorded after extensive Europe-wide touring, and described as a "youthful, buoyant, uplifting outpouring of love" (Financial Times).

Known for her sumptuous voice, consummate artistry, and compelling stage presence, Renée Fleming appears on the world's leading opera stages and in concert halls, and has been an exclusive Decca artist for over twenty years. Winner of the U.S. National Medal of Arts and Female Artist of the Year at the 2018 Classic Brit Awards, the "people's diva" has been sought after for numerous distinguished occasions, from the Nobel Peace Prize ceremony to the Diamond Jubilee Concert for HM Queen Elizabeth II at Buckingham Palace.


1. Wiegenlied (Lullaby), Op. 49, No. 4
2. Ständchen, Op. 106, No. 1
3. Lerchengesang, Op. 70, No. 2
4. Mondnacht, WoO 21
5. Des Liebsten Schwur, Op. 69, No. 4
6. Die Mainacht, Op. 43, No. 2
7. Du unten im Tale, WoO 33, No. 6
8. Vergebliches Ständchen

Frauenliebe und leben, Op. 42
9. Seit ich ihn gesehen
10. Er, der Herrlichste von allen
11. Ich kann's nicht fassen, nicht glauben
12. Du Ring an meinem Finger
13. Helft mir, ihr Schwestern
14. Süßer Fruend, du blickest.
15. An meinem Herzen, an meiner Brust
16. Nun hast du mir den ersten Schmerz getan

17. Ich atmet' einen linden Duft
18. Liebst du um Schönheit
19. Um Mitternacht
20. Blicke mir nicht in die Lieder!
21. Ich bin der Welt abhanden gekommen

Brahms: WIegenlied (Lullaby) , Op. 49, No. 4