Soul Food - Cooking With Maceo (LP)

Soul Food - Cooking With Maceo (LP) cover
$50.00 Out of Stock
6+ weeks
add to cart more by this artist

Maceo Parker
Soul Food - Cooking With Maceo (LP)

[ ADA / Warner / LP ]

Release Date: Friday 10 July 2020

This item is currently out of stock. It may take 6 or more weeks to obtain from when you place your order as this is a specialist product.

'Soul Food - Cooking with Maceo' blends raw, old school funk with the flavours of the New Orleans school of music.

Parker worked with Ivan Neville, Nikki Glaspie and Tony Hall, as well as a host of local musicians to record the songs. The funky flavour of the city weaves its way through the album as the funk father and his band take on iconic songs of the Mississippi masters such as Dr. John's voodoo funk of 'Right Place, Wrong Time', The Meters 'Just Kissed My Baby,' 'Yes, We Can Can' recorded by Allen Toussaint as well as takes on Aretha Franklin's 'Rock Steady', Prince's 'The Other Side of the Pillow' and Maceo's long-time hero and Ray Charles Saxophonist, David "Fathead" Newman's 'Hard Times'. We also get funky workouts from Parkers own back catalogue on 'M A C E O' and 'Cross The Tracks'. The latter adopted by Gilles Peterson at the staple song of his iconic WAG Club in Soho, London in the 1980s.

The amazing Maceo Parker has been at it with his legendary saxophone since the 1960's. That's when Maceo and his drummer brother Melvin climbed on board the James Brown funky soul funk train. It wasn't long before James coined the solo summoning signature, "Maceo, I want you to Blow!".


A1. Cross The Track
A2. Just Kissed My Baby
A3. Yes We Can Can
A4. M A C E O
B1. Hard Times
B2. Rock Steady
B3. Compared To What
B4. Right Place Wrong Time
B5. Other Side Of The Pillow