MARBECKS RARE: Anthology (The Sounds of Science)

MARBECKS RARE: Anthology (The Sounds of Science) cover
$35.00 Low Stock add to cart more by this artist

Beastie Boys
MARBECKS RARE: Anthology (The Sounds of Science)

[ Capitol Records / CD ]

Release Date: Thursday 23 April 1992

Should this item be out of stock at the time of your order, we would expect to be able to supply it to you within 4 - 7 business days.

At the close of the '90s, the Beastie Boys had only released five albums, which may not seem like enough music to provide the foundation for a double-disc retrospective. But between 1981 and 1999, they released countless B-sides, non-LP singles, and EPs, resulting in a sprawling discography ripe for a compilation. So, in 1999, the Beasties released the two-disc compilation The Sounds of Science, which covers every incarnation of the band from Pollywog Stew to Hello Nasty. Inevitably, some well-known songs are missing -- only three cuts from Licensed to Ill are here, and their breakthrough single "Rock Hard" had to be pulled when AC/DC refused permission for a sample. Ultimately, that doesn't matter, since the set captures the spirit of the Beasties so well. Usually, compilations that don't follow chronological order are a little muddled, but The Sounds of Science benefits from its jumbled sequencing, since it emphasizes the band's astonishing musical reach and consistency. After all, every album since Paul's Boutique has followed a similarly unpredictable pattern, as the group moved from hip-hop to punk to funk to jazz. What's remarkable about The Sounds of Science is that it has all the obvious suspects, but since they're rubbing singles with album tracks and B-sides like "Skills to Pay the Bills," two outtakes from the abandoned country album, alternate versions of "Jimmy James" and "Three MC's and One DJ," Fatboy Slim's brilliant remix of "Body Movin'," goofs like the Biz Markie-sung cover of "Benny and the Jets," and the excellent new single "Alive," it all sounds fresh. There's much more than hits here, but The Sounds of Science achieves something most anthologies don't: it summarizes the attitude and spirit of the band, while offering some new revelations even for dedicated fans.


1) Beastie Boys
2) Slow and Low
3) Shake Your Rump
4) Gratitude
5) Skills to Pay the Bills
6) Root Down
7) Believe Me
8) Sure Shot
9) Body Movin' - (fatboy slim remix)
10) Boomin' Granny
11) (You Gotta) Fight for Your Right (To Party)
12) Country Mike's Theme
13) Pass the Mic
14) Something's Got to Give
15) Bodhisattva Vow
16) Sabrosa
17) Song For the Man
18) Soba Violence
19) Alive
20) Jimmy James
21) Three MC's and One DJ - (live, video version)
1) Biz vs. The Nuge, The
2) Sabotage
3) Shadrach
4) Brass Monkey
5) Time for Livin'
6) Dub the Mic
7) Benny and the Jets
8) Negotiation Limerick File, The
9) I Want Some
10) Rock Hard
11) Son of Neckbone
12) Get It Together
13) Twenty Questions
14) Remote Control
15) Railroad Blues
16) Live Wire
17) So What'cha Want
18) Netty's Girl
19) Egg Raid on Mojo
20) Hey Ladies
21) Intergalactic