Hammerschmidt: Ach Jesus stirbt

Hammerschmidt: Ach Jesus stirbt cover $35.00 In Stock add to cart

Hammerschmidt: Ach Jesus stirbt
Vox Luminis, Lionel Meunier

[ Ricercar / CD ]

Release Date: Friday 9 October 2020

"The five vocalists turn in a superb piece of ensemble-singing. Altogether, this is the standout among the albums I have reviewed in a year where such experiences have seemed more necessary than ever." Recording of the Month - Gramophone Dec 2020

Andreas Hammerschmidt is undoubtedly the most unjustly neglected composer of seventeenth-century Lutheran Germany. Very few recordings have been devoted to him, even though his music was widely published during his lifetime. The fifteen or so published collections offer a great variety of works, which, like those of his famous contemporary Heinrich Schütz, illustrate the fusion between the Lutheran polyphonic tradition and the various stylistic influences of the Italian Baroque. For this musical portrait of Hammerschmidt, Vox Luminis has drawn on several of these collections in order to offer as rounded a picture as possible of the variety of the composer's styles. The entire programme is structured around texts for Passiontide and Easter, introduced by an intensely moving madrigalian motet on the death of Christ, Ach Jesus stirbt.

"The editorial group have given Vox Luminis fine modern texts; the performances live up fully to the ensemble's already strong reputation, and they are equally well supported by Clematis on three tracks. There are some performers so consistently first-rate that I long ago ran out of words to praise them. Such, too, are Vox Luminis and Clematis." MusicWeb


01. Ach Jesus stirbt
02. O barmherziger Vater
03. Warum betrübst du dich, mein Herz
04. Ach Gott, warum hast du mein vergessen
05. Erbarm dich mein
06. Bis hin an des Creutzes Stamm
07. Christ lag in Todesbanden
08. Vater unser
09. Ich bin gewiß, das weder Tod
10. Triumph, Triumph, Victoria
11. Die mit Tränen säen
12. Wer wälzet uns den Stein
13. Ist nicht Ephraim mein theurer Sohn
14. Ich fahre auf zu meinem Vater
15. Siehe, wie fein und lieblich ists