Landfall: NZ Percussion Vol 1

Landfall: NZ Percussion Vol 1 cover
$30.00 In Stock add to cart

Landfall: NZ Percussion Vol 1
Justin DeHart

[ Rattle Records / CD ]

Release Date: Friday 16 July 2021

Landfall is the first of a proposed series focused on works for solo percussion. The recording features pieces by New Zealand composers Glenda Keam, David Downes, Alex van den Broek, Mark Menzies, Chris Gendall, Rosa Elliott, Robert Bryce, Simon Eastwood, and Reuben de Lautour.

"I moved to Ōtautahi Christchurch in February 2017 to teach music at the University of Canterbury. I was excited to be a part of the rebuild of the city and to have the opportunity to build the first percussion program in the country as a full-time percussion instructor. I was inspired by the percussion music I discovered here-various taonga pūoro, Phil Dadson and From Scratch, Strike Percussion, and music by Gareth Farr and John Psathas-to name just a few. With this collection of new works, I hope to continue the tradition of promoting innovative percussion music made in Aotearoa New Zealand.

The luxury of working with living composers is the ability to collaborate, discuss, and explore new modes of musical expression. I express my deep gratitude to all the composers on this first volume for their musical creativity, and generosity."

Justin DeHart, June 2021


1. Tautology 04:05
2. Bells/Mirrors 08:28
3. Order 81 08:32
4. Scales & Taonga 06:07
5. Plateaux 09:15
6. Landfall 06:12
7. The New Music Dance 01:06
8. Silver Wind 01:33
9. Golden Earth 01:27
10. White Water 01:33
11. Braided Plain Soundwalk 11:08