Mozart: String Quartets

Mozart: String Quartets cover
$35.00 Out of Stock
2-6 weeks
add to cart

Mozart: String Quartets
Cuarteto Casals

[ Harmonia Mundi / CD ]

Release Date: Friday 3 September 2021

This item is currently out of stock. We expect to be able to supply it to you within 2 - 4 weeks from when you place your order.

After the early quartets and the famous 'Dissonance' Quartet, the Cuarteto Casals continues its exploration of the set of works Mozart dedicated to Joseph Haydn. Here one composer took on the mantle of the other: the younger man, who had now settled in Vienna and had just started a family, was going through an exceptional period of creativity, transfiguring everything he touched with his genius. An exhilarating experience for our Catalan musicians, following hard on the heels of their acclaimed Beethoven cycle.

"If you like your Mozart taut and urgent, with no concessions to Mozartian 'charm', you should find these brilliantly executed performances as riveting as I do." Gramophone


1 - String Quartet No.15 - I. Allegro moderato
2 - String Quartet No.15 - II. Andante
3 - String Quartet No.15 - III. Menuetto - Trio. Allegretto
4 - String Quartet No.15 - IV. Allegretto ma non troppo
5 - String Quartet No.17 - I. Allegro vivace assai
6 - String Quartet No.17 - II. Menuetto - Trio. Moderato
7 - String Quartet No.17 - III. Adagio
8 - String Quartet No.17 - IV. Allegro assai
9 - String Quartet No.18 - I. Allegro
10 - String Quartet No.18 - II. Menuetto - Trio
11 - String Quartet No.18 - III. Andante
12 - String Quartet No.18 - IV. Allegro non troppo