Profesión cover
$35.00 In Stock add to cart

Sean Shibe (guitar)

[ Pentatone / CD ]

Release Date: Friday 17 November 2023

Sean Shibe returns to the classical guitar on Profesión, bringing together works by Agustín Barrios, Heitor Villa-Lobos and Alberto Ginastera. The album derives its name from Barrios's "Profesión de Fe" (profession of faith), a poem which he often used as a preface to his concerts. The poem references indigenous mythological deities, and praises the power of the guitar as the ultimate conduit to the secrets of the divine South-American destiny.

Barrios's La Catedral and Julia Florida are combined with Villa Lobos's 12 Études, while Ginastera's Sonata completes the programme. These works by South American composers begin with homage and pastiche in reverence of the Old World, but build towards a totally original idiom - musical magical realism. The repertoire is voluminous, indulging in excess, and narcotic, and as such creates a counterweight to the reserved and introspective nature of Shibe's acclaimed classical predecessor album Camino.

This is Shibe's first-ever album focussing on repertoire that was originally written for the classical guitar, and he plays a Hauser copy built for Julian Bream. It was considered one of the best instruments of the 1930s, and fits the sound world of this programme like a glove.

"This is a gleaming and brilliant album that doesn't fail to awaken the senses to the exhilarating world of un-adulterated acoustic sound." BBC Music

"It's an extraordinary account [of the Villa-Lobos], bursting with nuance and personality and easily rivalling Julian Bream's classic from 1978." Gramophone Editor's Choice Dec 2023


Heitor Villa-Lobos (1887-1959)
5 Preludes, W419, A419
1) No. 3 in A Minor (Homage to Bach) 3:53

Agustín Barrios Mangoré (1885-1944)
La catedral
2) I. Preludio (Saudade) 1:59
3) II. Andante religios 2:02
4) III. Allegro solemne 3:19
5) Julia Florida in D Major 4:32

Heitor Villa-Lobos
12 Estudos, W235, A235
6) No. 1, Allegro non troppo - arpejos 2:02
7) No. 2, Allegro - arpejos 1:38
8) No. 3, Allegro moderato - arpejos 2:49
9) No. 4, Un peu modéré - acordes repetidos 4:37
10) No. 5, Andantino 2:21
11) No. 6, Poco allegro 1:46
12) No. 7, Tres animé 3:00
13) No. 8, Modéré - Lent
14) No. 9, Très peu animé 3:02
15) No. 10, Très animé 2:00
16) No. 11, Lent 3:52
17) No. 12, Animé 2:19

Alberto Ginastera (1916-1983)
Sonata, Op. 47
18) I. Esordio 4:14
19) II. Scherzo 3:20
20) III. Canto 3:50
21) IV. Finale 2:15