Bedtime for Democracy (Remastered)

Bedtime for Democracy (Remastered) cover $28.00 In stock with supplier
ETA: 4-7 business days
add to cart more by this artist

Dead Kennedys
Bedtime for Democracy (Remastered)

[ Manifesto / CD ]

Release Date: Friday 17 August 2018

We don’t have this item in our warehouse or stores at the moment, but the supplier has stock. We should be able to get it to you in 4 - 7 business days from when you order it.

The Dead Kennedys go out in a blaze of snarling, defiant glory in their final studio release. They drub a bushel basket's worth of entrenched interests, including scientists, the military, the power hungry, macho attitudes, classicism, lie detectors, Reagan and his economic policies, the press, the entertainment industry, and the commercialization of rock and revolutionary attitudes. The album's manic speed punk style recalls In God We Trust Inc., particularly on the frenetic cover of Johnny Paycheck's hit "Take This Job and Shove It." When the tempo slows, a few songs resemble frantic rockabilly; of these, "Hop With the Jetset" lampoons the privileged classes, "I Spy" savages government agents, and "Where Do Ya Draw the Line" is a plea in favor of anarchy. The quiet, furtive "D.M.S.O." is a highly atypical number strongly resembling the theme to The Pink Panther. The lengthy, anthemic "Cesspools in Eden" is a hard rock number with unusual chord changes and lyrics railing against toxic waste; similarly, "Chickenshit Conformist" alternates slow and hyperfast sections and sports wide-ranging verses that constitute a scathing indictment of the rock music industry.


1. Take This Job and Shove It - 1:25
2. Hop With the Jet Set - 2:07
3. Dear Abby - 1:09
4. Rambozo the Clown - 2:25
5. Fleshdunce - 1:29
6. The Great Wall - 1:32
7. Shrink - 1:44
8. Triumph of the Swill - 2:17
9. Macho Insecurity - 1:30
10. I Spy - 2:30
11. Cesspools in Eden - 5:56
12. One-Way Ticket to Pluto - 1:38
13. Do the Slag - 1:36
14. A Commercial - 1:33
15. Gone With My Wind - 1:43
16. Anarchy for Sale - 1:18
17. Chickenshit Conformist - 5:58
18. Where Do Ya Draw the Line - 2:39
19. Potshot Heard 'Round the World - 2:10
20. D.M.S.O. - 2:09
21. Lie Detector - 3:45