In Fine Style

In Fine Style cover $35.00 Out of Stock
2-4 weeks
add to cart more by this artist

Augustus Pablo
In Fine Style

[ Pressure Sounds / CD ]

Release Date: Thursday 11 December 2003

This item is currently out of stock. We expect to be able to supply it to you within 2 - 4 weeks from when you place your order.

A unique set of material - much of this material has never before been released on CD and/or only ever available on rare 7" and 12" vinyl

"We play music by feeling it. We call it the Far East sound. Cause we play in minor chords. When you play those chords its like a story without words"
- Augustus Pablo.

In Fine Style is the second album of Augustus Pablo's material to be released on Pressure Sounds. It's a unique set of material in that much of it has never before been released on CD and much of it was only ever available on rare 7" and 12" vinyl.

Not only are the records on this set beautiful music, they are the product of love, humanity and an exceptional devotion to a higher force. Its powerful music in the best sense of the word.

Unlike many of his contemporaries Pablo was able to understand and fully explore the possibilities of the 12" mix. It perfectly suited his instrumental jazz-like approach to reggae music. The full melodic range of his work was brought to the fore. Gathered on this compilation are some of the best examples of Pablo's 12 " explorations.

Tracks such as Phillips Showcase and Pablo In Fine Style are not limited by the 7" format. The album is stunningly packaged and the sleeve notes are up to the usual high standard plus many of the pictures have never been used before.


1 Far East - 3:02
2 Phillip's Showcase - 3:08
3 East Man Sound - 2:52
4 Levi Dub - 5:12
5 Up Warika Hill - 3:19
6 Mountain View Dub [Version One] - 3:32
7 Mountain View Dub [Version Two] - 3:24
8 Pablo in Fine Style - 3:58
9 Raw Dub - 3:55
10 Cool Shade Dub - 3:02
11 Ras Menilik Congo [Harp] - 2:33
12 Roots Dub - 2:35
13 False Rumour - 2:46
14 Zambian Style - 2:52
15 Rockers Rock [Version] - 2:58
16 Chock Full and Dub [*] - 2:51
17 Kid Ralph [*] - 3:30