Classic Richard Wagner

Classic Richard Wagner cover
$38.00 Out of Stock
ETA: 4-7 business days
add to cart

Classic Richard Wagner
Berlin Philharmonic, Pittsburgh Symphony, Lorin Maazel / Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra, Jesús López-Cobos

[ Concord / Telarc / 3 CD ]

Release Date: Friday 8 March 2019

We don’t have this item in our warehouse or stores at the moment, but the supplier has stock. We should be able to get it to you in 4 - 7 business days from when you order it.

The best selling "The Ring Without Words" is a unique synthesis of orchestral music from Wagner's Ring cycle. Arranged by Lorin Maazel, this recording includes all the standard Ring orchestral excerpts such as Ride of the Valkyries and Siegfried's Rhine Journey.

Other well known Wagner compositions in this specially priced 3 CD box set are Act 1 of Die Walkure and a collection of Overtures and Preludes featuring the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra.


Disc 1
The Ring Without Words
1. Das Rheingold: Thus, we begin in the "greenish twilight" of the Rhine
2. float up to the home of the Gods, (Entrance of the Gods into Valhalla)
3. fall amongst hammering dwarfs "smithying" away
4. ride Donner's thunderbolt, crawl with the thirst-crazed Siegmund to the haven (temporary) of Sieglinde's hearth and solace

5. Die Walkure: from Act I: In the sound code, we "see" his loving gaze,
6. their flight
7. from Act II, Wotan's rage
8. from Act III, The Cavalcade of Brunnhilde's sisters (Ride of the Valkyries)
9. Wotan's farewell to his favorite daughter (Wotan's Farewell and Magic Fire Music)

10. Siegrried: from Act I, Mime's fright
11. Siegfried's forging of the magic sword
12. His wanderings through the forest
13. from Act II, his slaying of the Dragon
14. the Dragon's lament

15. Gotterdammerung: from Act I, day breaking 'round Siegfried's and Brunnhilde's passion
16. Siedfried's Rhine journey, (Dawn and Siegfried's Rhine Journey)
17. from Act II: Hagen's call to his clan
18. Siegfried and the Rhinemaidens
19. from Act III: his death and the funeral music, (Siegfried's Death and Funeral Music)
20. Immolation (Immolation Scene)

Disc 2:
Die Walkure: Act 1

Disc 3:
Die Meistersinger - Prelude Act 1
Rienzi: Overture
Faust: Overture
The Flying Dutchman: Overture
Tristan und Isolde: Prelude & Liebestod
Tanhauser: Overture