The Century of Self

The Century of Self cover $40.00 Low Stock add to cart more by this artist

...And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead
The Century of Self

[ Justice Recordings / CD ]

Release Date: Monday 27 April 2009

Should this item be out of stock at the time of your order, we would expect to be able to supply it to you within 2 - 4 weeks.

'The Century of Self' is an epic masterpiece. From the soaring instrumental opener onwards, this album is a work of tremendous scope and ambition from And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead.

Plenty of bands like to yammer on about how their newest record is a 'return to their roots,' as if some undiscovered brilliance is to be found and resurrected on early demos and basement jam sessions. But in the case of ...And You Will Know Us by the Trail of, a return to form could be just what the doctor ordered.

The band's 2002 album, 'Source Tags And Codes', sparked a near universal rock-critic orgasm; after that, how could their two follow up efforts match up? Trail of Dead are now free men, emancipated from their former record company and ready to reach back to the past while looking forward. 'We finally have the artistic freedom we've wanted, with no pressure to create radio music, no legal department to OK our artwork, and no A&R people breathing down our necks,' says Conrad Keely, one of two primary and founding members of the band.

'The Century of Self' is an epic masterpiece. From the soaring instrumental opener, "Giants Causeway", to the album's closer, "Insatiable Two", which starts off with the sounds of a demented circus and ends with an echoing sing-along about Keely's lack of monstrosity, the record is a work of tremendous scope and ambition. 'The new songs are very personal,' says Keely. We're building on everything we've ever done, looking back on our whole career and taking a lot inspiration from our early music. We continue to evolve the concept and try to incorporate new ideas.

Fifteen years in to their career, Trail of Dead continues to innovate and grow. At a point where many other bands would be resting on their laurels and half-heartedly tossing off greatest hits comps, Trail of Dead are just getting started.


1. Giants Causeway
2. Far Pavillions
3. Isis Unveiled
4. Halcyon Days
5. Bells of Creation
6. Fields of Coal
7. Inland Sea
8. Luna Park
9. Pictures of an Only Child
10. Insatiable one
11. Ascending
12. An August Theme
13. Insatiable (two)