Quiet Nights (LP)

Quiet Nights (LP) cover
$60.00 Low Stock add to cart more by this artist

Diana Krall
Quiet Nights (LP)

[ LP ]

Release Date: Monday 6 July 2009

Should this item be out of stock at the time of your order, we would expect to be able to supply it to you within 2 - 4 weeks.

Bossa nova is not unfamiliar to Diana Krall, but 2009's Quiet Nights is her first record devoted to the gently swaying rhythm. Teaming up again with arranger Claus Ogerman, who last worked with Krall on 2001's The Look of Love and who also frequently collaborated with bossa nova godfather Antonio Carlos Jobim, Krall winds up with a mellow, lazy album that recalls the relaxed late-night sophistication of Jobim's duet album with Frank Sinatra, which Ogerman also happened to arrange and conduct. It's not just the sound, it's the songs: how '60s standards like Bacharach/David's "Walk on By" sit next to three Jobim tunes, a song by Marcos Valle ("So Nice"), and a few American Songbook standards placed at the beginning, the better to ease listeners into purer bossa nova at the end. Then again, they don't need much persuasion -- if any music could be called accessible it's this, with its warm intimacy and classic good taste. If anything, there may be a bit too much classic good taste on Quiet Nights -- there is no reinterpretation, only homage -- but that's not quite a problem because Krall knows enough to lay back, to never push, only to glide upon the gossamer surface. After all, some things are timeless for a reason; they need no updating, only replicating. - AllMusic


A1 Where Or When 4:09
A2 Too Marvelous For Words 4:03
A3 I've Grown Accustomed To His Face 4:46
A4 The Boy From Ipanema 4:52
A5 Walk On By 5:01
B1 You're My Thrill 5:47
B2 Este Seu Olhar 2:45
B3 So Nice 3:50
B4 Quiet Nights 4:45
B5 Guess I'll Hang My Tears Out To Dry 4:49