Hard Bargain

Hard Bargain cover $42.00 Out of Stock
2-6 weeks
add to cart more by this artist

Emmylou Harris
Hard Bargain

[ Nonesuch Records / CD ]

Release Date: Monday 16 May 2011

The follow-up to Emmylou's acclaimed 2008 release, 'All I Intended to Be', the ' Hard Bargain' album, comprises 11 wonderful new songs by Harris as well as two fine covers.

'Hard Bargain' is the follow-up to Emmylou Harris' acclaimed 2008 release, 'All I Intended to Be'. The new album, which comprises 11 wonderful new songs by Harris as well as two fine covers, was produced by Jay Joyce (Cage the Elephant, Patty Griffin).

"We did the whole record in about a month, which is quite unusual for me. But I had all the material beforehand. I'd written 11 of the 13 songs and I really wanted to include two more by other writers," Harris explains. "One of the covers is Ron Sexsmith's Hard Bargain which I absolutely love. The other is by Jay Joyce, called Cross Yourself.

"We did the whole thing with just three musicians, me being one of them. Jay, the producer, and Giles Reeves play everything between them. It's not a stripped down record though; there's only one song that's a little bare bones. I'm basically a slow ballad-y person, but Jay managed to really move the songs up a bit. But they still have the same emotional feel."


1. The Road
2. Home Sweet Home
3. My Name Is Emmett Till
4. Goodnight Old World
5. New Orleans
6. Big Black Dog
7. Lonely Girl
8. Hard Bargain
9. Six White Cadillacs
10. The Ship on His Arm
11. Darlin' Kate
12. Nobody
13. Cross Yourself

View Emmylou Harris :- "The Road" (via YouTube)