Odessey & Oracle - The 30th Anniversary Edition

Odessey & Oracle - The 30th Anniversary Edition cover $25.00 In stock with supplier
ETA: 4-7 business days
add to cart more by this artist

The Zombies
Odessey & Oracle - The 30th Anniversary Edition

[ Ace Records U.K. / CD ]

Release Date: Tuesday 19 May 1998

We don’t have this item in our warehouse or stores at the moment, but the supplier has stock. We should be able to get it to you in 4 - 7 business days from when you order it.

The Zombies were perhaps the most British-sounding of all British Invasion groups, and yet they never scored a hit record in their native U.K. The band released three great singles in the U.S, including the wonderful "Time of the Season," which concludes this 1968 masterpiece, frequently called Britain's version of Pet Sounds. This 30th anniversary edition presents both the stereo and mono versions (and there are substantial differences) of the melancholic, keyboard-dominated pop that flowed from Rod Argent and bassist Chris White. The Zombies' main songwriters explored "psychedelic" themes from odd angles. Here songs address a letter to a girlfriend in jail ("Care of Cell 44") and war ("Butcher's Tale"). There's even a "flowers-in-their-hair" hippie anthem (the gorgeous "Hung Up on a Dream"). Totally of its time, and, nevertheless, a timeless classic.


1. Care of Cell
2. A Rose for Emily
3. Maybe After He's Gone
4. Beechwood Park
5. Brief Candles
6. Hung Up On a Dream
7. Changes
8. I Want Her She Wants Me
9. This Will Be Our Year
10. Butchers Tale (Western Front 1914)
11. Friends of Mine
12. Time of The Season
13. Care of Cell
14. A Rose for Emily
15. Maybe After He's Gone
16. Beechwood Park
17. Brief Candles
18. Hung Up On a Dream
19. Changes
20. I Want Her She Wants Me
21. This Will Be Our Year
22. Butchers Tale (Western Front 1914)
23. Friends of Mine
24. Time of The Season
25. A Rose For Emily (alternate version)
26. Time of The Season (alternate mix)
27. Prison Song aka Care of Cell 44 (backing track)