You Are What You Is

You Are What You Is cover
$24.00 Out of Stock
2-6 weeks
add to cart more by this artist

Frank Zappa
You Are What You Is

[ Universal Music International / CD ]

Release Date: Thursday 4 October 2012

This item is currently out of stock. We expect to be able to supply it to you within 2 - 4 weeks from when you place your order.

Originally released as a double album in 1981, and now digitally remastered, 'You Are What You Is' features Zappa at his satiric best, with guitar provided by Steve Vai!

'You Are What You Is' is a Zappa classic!

Lots of social commentary on this one, particularly on the dangers of "organized religion." Originally released as a double album in 1981 (and now on one CD), this set is unusually heavy on vocals; in fact only one track, a brief excerpt from the ballet "Sinister Footwear," is an instrumental.

With a cast including Moon Zappa, Steve Vai, Ike Willis and returning Mother Jimmy Carl Black, FZ takes stabs at punk fashion ("Mudd Club", "I'm a Beautiful Guy"), salutes his pals from the planet Remulak ("Conehead"); and closes it out with "Drafted Again," a remake of his topical 1980 single "I Don't Wanna Get Drafted."

But the sharpest satire is reserved for the churches, on a pointed sequence of tunes including "The Meek Shall Inherit Nothing" (first performed on "Saturday Night Live"), "Dumb All Over", and "Heavenly Bank Account."


1. Teen-age Wind
2. Harder Than Your Husband
3. Doreen
4. Goblin Girl
5. Theme From The 3rd Movement Of Sinister Footwear
6. Society Pages
7. I'm A Beautiful Guy
8. Beauty Knows No Pain
9. Charlie's Enormous Mouth
10. Any Downers?
11. Conehead
12. You Are What You Is
13. Mudd Club
14. The Meek Shall Inherit Nothing
15. Dumb All Over
16. Heavenly Bank Account
17. Suicide Chump
18. Jumbo Go Away
19. If Only She Woulda
20. Drafted Again