The Essential Lou Reed

The Essential Lou Reed cover $15.00 In Stock add to cart more by this artist

Lou Reed
The Essential Lou Reed

[ Sony / 2 CD ]

Release Date: Monday 10 October 2011

One of the most important figures to emerge from the New York art & music movement of the 1960s & 70s, Lou Reed has influenced generations of musicians. The principal songwriter and guitar player in experimental group The Velvet Underground, a band that had more success after it had disbanded than when they were together, Reed released his solo debut in June 1972 to a muted response.

It was his sophomore album Transformer that showed Reed could break out beyond the NY underground. Produced by David Bowie, himself a VU fan, Transformer mixed glam-rock with the palpable energy that Reed's songwriting emitted, and contained several songs that would remain classics long after he passed. "Vicious", "Walk On the Wild Side" and "Satellite of Love" all feature on this collection.

The Velvet Underground's "Sweet Jane" and I'm Waiting For the Man" are just a couple of the other instantly recognisable works included on this double CD; an excellent compilation if you want an overview without committing to his entire catalog.


Disc 1
1. Who Am I? (Tripitena's Song)
2. Sweet Jane / The Velvet Underground
3. Rock 'n' Roll / The Velvet Underground
4. I'm Waiting For the Man / The Velvet Underground
5. White Light/White Heat
6. Street Hassle
7. Berlin
8. Caroline Says II
9. The Kids
10. Walk On the Wild Side
11. Kill Your Sons
12. Vicious
13. The Blue Mask
14. I'll Be Your Mirror
15. Magic and Loss: The Summation
16. Ecstacy

Disc 2
1. I Wanna Be Black
2. Temporary Thing
3. Shooting Star
4. Legendary Hearts
5. Heroin
6. Coney Island Baby
7. The Last Shot
8. The Bells
9. Perfect Day
10. Sally Can't Dance
11. Satellite of Love
12. NYC Man
13. Dirty Blvd.
14. Rock Minuet
15 Pale Blue Eyes / The Velvet Underground