Kicking Against The Pricks (LP)

Kicking Against The Pricks (LP) cover
$40.00 In Stock add to cart more by this artist

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds
Kicking Against The Pricks (LP)

[ Mute / LP ]

Release Date: Friday 28 July 2017

'Kicking Against The Pricks' is Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds' third album, released in 1986. This album is made up solely of cover songs. For this record the Bad Seeds line-up is Cave, new drummer Thomas Wydler, Mick Harvey, Blixa Bargeld and Barry Adamson. Remarking on the song selection, Cave said, "They were all done for different reasons. Basically a list of songs were made and we tried to play them. We tried songs by all sorts of people that never got on the record. Some songs were tributes, like the Tom Jones song; other, we didn't think were ever done particularly well in the first place. Some had haunted my childhood, like 'The Carnival Is Over'". The strings were arranged by Mick Harvey and played by the Berliner Kaffeehausmusik Ensemble. 'The Hammer Song' is an entirely different song than the track with the same title on the 1990 Bad Seeds album 'The Good Son'.

Includes download code.


1. Muddy Water
2. I'm Gonna Kill That Woman
3. Sleeping Annaleah
4. Long Black Veil
5. Hey Joe
6. The Singer
7. All Tomorrow's Parties
8. By The Time I Get To Pheonix
9. The Hammer Song
10. Something's Gotten Hold Of My Heart
11. Jesus Met The Woman At The Well
12. The Carnival Is Over

Listen to Muddy Water via Youtube