To Pimp A Butterfly

To Pimp A Butterfly cover
$15.00 Out of Stock
2-6 weeks
add to cart more by this artist

Kendrick Lamar
To Pimp A Butterfly

[ Interscope Records / CD ]

Release Date: Friday 27 March 2015

This item is currently out of stock. We expect to be able to supply it to you within 2 - 4 weeks from when you place your order.

This new album (after the success of 2012's 'good kid, m.A.A.d. city') brings listeners up to Lamar's present day, from world tours to the B.E.T. Awards, and the separation he feels from his past. Rather than relief, his escape from Compton California has brought only more opportunities for sin and self-doubt, an internal chaos reflected not only in his intricate stories but also in vigorous jazz- and funk-inflected production that builds on the smoother West Coast sounds of his debut.

On the album, after some "soul-searching," including visits not only back to Compton but also to Nelson Mandela's cell on Robben Island, Mr. Lamar preaches black unity in the face of oppression. Self-pity turns to on-the-ground action and consciousness-raising.

But to call "To Pimp a Butterfly" a political record "would be shortchanging it", Kendrick Lamar said. "It's a record full of strength and courage and honesty" but also "growth and acknowledgment and denial".


1. Wesley's Theory (Kendrick Lamar, George Clinton, Thundercat)
2. For Free? - Interlude
3. King Kunta
4. Institutionalized (Kendrick Lamar, Bilal, Anna Wise, Snoop Dogg)
5. These Walls (Kendrick Lamar, Bilal, Anna Wise, Thundercat)
6. u
7. Alright
8. For Sale? - Interlude
9. Momma
10. Hood Politics
11. How Much A Dollar Cost (Kendrick Lamar, James Fauntleroy, Ronald Isley)
12. Complexion (A Zulu Love) (Kendrick Lamar, Rapsody)
13. The Blacker The Berry
14. You Ain't Gotta Lie (Momma Said)
15. i - Album Version
16. Mortal Man

Watch i via Youtube