McLeod: 24 Tone Clocks

McLeod: 24 Tone Clocks cover
$30.00 In Stock add to cart

McLeod: 24 Tone Clocks
Michael Houstoun (piano), Diedre Irons (piano)

[ Rattle Records / 2 CD ]

Release Date: Friday 11 November 2016

Featuring two of New Zealand's finest pianists, Jenny McLeod's 24 Tone Clocks is the definitive recording of an extraordinary series of compositions. A lifetime in the making, 24 Tone Clocks is a summation of Jenny's decades-long immersion into Peter Schat's 'tone clock' theory of chromatic harmony.

In the early 80s Peter Schat introduced Jenny to his compositional theories, and she immediately recognised many ideas she had already discovered for herself. "It dawned on me," says Jenny, "that Schat had come up with the basis for a new terminology and framework of thinking with reference to the (equal-tempered 12-note) chromatic system-something that I felt was not only simple, practical and workable, but also fresh and full of imaginative potential for the composer. Later in Amsterdam, Schat showed me the rest of his writings, which were largely in Dutch. I came home and immediately started learning Dutch, so as to translate and understand all of it. These translations were eventually published in English as Peter Schat's The Tone Clock."

Michael Houstoun (piano, tracks 1-6, 19-24)
Diedre Irons (piano, tracks 7-18)


Disc One
01 Tone Clock Piece I (2:23) 1988
02 Tone Clock Piece II (2:42) 1988
03 Tone Clock Piece III (5:09) 1989
04 Tone Clock Piece IV (2:26) 1989
05 Tone Clock Piece V (3:46) 1988, a.k.a. Vive Messiaen!
06 Tone Clock Piece VI (3:11) 1989
07 Tone Clock Piece VII (3:43) 1989
08 Tone Clock Piece VIII (4:38) 1995
09 Tone Clock Piece IX (5:48) 1995
10 Tone Clock Piece X (3:38) 1995
11 Tone Clock Piece XI (3:43) 1995
12 Tone Clock Piece XII (6:18) 2003, a.k.a. Meditation on Psalm 134

Disc Two
13 Tone Clock Piece XIII (5:00) 2004, a.k.a. For Jack from Jack I
14 Tone Clock Piece XIV (5:14) 2004, a.k.a. For Jack from Jack II
15 Tone Clock Piece XV (5:44) 2004, a.k.a. For Jack from Jack III
16 Tone Clock Piece XVI (5:44) 2004, a.k.a. For Jack from Jack IV
17 Tone Clock Piece XVII (4:04) 2004, a.k.a. For Jack from Jack V
18 Tone Clock Piece XVIII (5:12) 2007, a.k.a. Landscape Prelude
19 Tone Clock Piece XIX (5:06) 2011, a.k.a. Moon, Night Birds, Dark Pools
20 Tone Clock Piece XX (1:32) 2011, a.k.a. Te Kapowai (Dragonfly)
21 Tone Clock Piece XXI (3:59) 2011, a.k.a. Early Dawn to Sunrise-Earthfall
22 Tone Clock Piece XXII (4:21) 2011, a.k.a. Haka
23 Tone Clock Piece XXIII (4:36) 2011, a.k.a. Pyramids, Symmetries, Crevices of Sleep
24 Tone Clock Piece XXIV (4:43) 2011, a.k.a. Dream Waves (surfing the planet ...)