Toward The Within (LP)

Toward The Within (LP) cover
$50.00 In stock with supplier
ETA: 2-5 business days
add to cart more by this artist

Dead Can Dance
Toward The Within (LP)

[ 4AD / 2 LP ]

Release Date: Friday 11 November 2016

We don’t have this item in our warehouse or stores at the moment, but the supplier has stock. We should be able to get it to you in 2 - 5 business days from when you order it.

Dead Can Dance's first live album, Toward the Within, isn't a live set in the traditional sense. Though it was recorded in one take during a performance at Santa Monica's Mayfair Musical Hall in November 1993, the setlist isn't a recitation of the band's "greatest hits." Only four of its 15 songs appeared on prior albums, making it clear that the band were focused on using the stage to do things they couldn't generate in the studio.

While it's hard to imagine some of the group's highly orchestrated and often ethereal music translating to a live setting, these songs reveal the organic processes of their music. For all their complexity, "Rakim," "The Song of the Sibyl," and "Desert Song" are essentially folk songs, and hearing them performed by seven individuals onstage is a reminder of the human element behind the band's otherworldly visions. The concert also highlights the two distinct personalities at the center of the group. Brendan Perry's singer/songwriter leanings come to the fore on "Don't Fade Away" and "American Dreaming," while "Persian Love Song" and "The Wind That Shakes the Barley" are dominated by Lisa Gerrard's mystical and operatic presence.


A1. Rakim
A2. Persian Love Song
A3. Desert Song
A4. Yulunga (Spirit Dance)
B1. Piece For Solo Flute
B2. The Wind That Shakes The Barley
B3. I Am Stretched On Your Grave
C1. I Can See Now
C2. American Dreaming
C3. Cantara
C4. Oman
D1. Song Of The Sibyl
D2. Tristan
D3. Sanvean
D4. Don't Fade Away