New Gen

New Gen cover
$27.00 Out of Stock
2-6 weeks
add to cart more by this artist

New Gen
New Gen

[ XL Recordings / CD ]

Release Date: Friday 27 January 2017

This item is currently out of stock. We expect to be able to supply it to you within 1 - 2 weeks from when you place your order.

New Gen: a collaborative album showcasing the best of new UK grime, hip-hop, trap & new wave R&B in the U.K. The compilation features buzzed about artists including AJ Tracey, Ray BLK, and Steflon Don - all were included on the influential BBC's Sound of 2017 long list.

New Gen started out as a playlist series curated by Caroline Simionescu-Marin, editor at GRM Daily and now an A&R at XL. Working with the label, she expanded the idea into an album project centred around the New Gen Studio, a space for MCs, songwriters, mixers and engineers to collaborate.

XL elaborates on the album's concept: "It serves as a timely snapshot of London's burgeoning underground music scene, as well as an introduction to those who may have missed these exciting young artists until now."

Prefaced by teaser single, Ring The Alarm from Avelino and Tiggs Da Author, and the crushing rudeness of Stefflon Don & Abra Cadabra's Money Haffi Mek, highlights also come heavy in the form of 67's road rap banger Jackets, AJ's sweetly moment, My Ways, the Afrobeats swerve of Rather Get Money by TE dness, and a Future-style bewt, Top Floor feat. Yang Bane.


01. Welcome To The New Gen (feat. Avelino & Bonkaz)
02. Rather Get Money (feat. TE dness)
03. Busy (feat. Ray BLK)
4. My Ways (feat AJ Tracey & J Warner)
05. Man Of The Hour (feat. Jevon)
06. All Saints Road
07. Ring The Alarm (feat. Avelino & Tiggs Da Author)
08. Money Haffi Mek (Stefflon Don & Abra Cadabra)
9. Flexing (feat. Renz)
10. Top Floor (feat. Yxng Bane)
11. Jackets (feat. 67)
12. Fuck your Feelings (feat. Kojey Radical)
13. Life Support (feat. Bonkaz & Tiggs Da Author)
14. Thoughts (feat. Dotty)
15. Loose (feat. WSTRN)
16. Vanilla Skies (feat. A2)
17. Say Those Words Again (feat. J Warner)