Perfect Body (LP)

Perfect Body (LP) cover
$36.00 Low Stock add to cart more by this artist

Perfect Body (LP)

[ Flying Nun / LP ]

Release Date: Friday 4 August 2017

Should this item be out of stock at the time of your order, we would expect to be able to supply it to you within 2 - 5 business days.

Mermaidens are a three-piece outfit from Wellington, New Zealand, who are renowned for their intricate and unique songwriting and boldly raw but increasingly refined studio production.

Mermaidens' sound offers a mesmerising dip into the realms of post-punk and psych, while the voices of Gussie Larkin and Lily West embrace warm harmonies and dreamy, hypnotic lyrics, entwined with dark and moody riff-based melodies, underpinned by Abe Hollingsworth's fluid and dynamic percussion. Drawing inspiration from bands like Warpaint, Fugazi, Exploded View and Sleater-Kinney, Mermaidens formed in 2013, having been friends in high school. Lily and Gussie had nervously shown each other songs they'd written before collaborating together. The name Mermaidens seemed to fit well as it's fun and a little bit silly, yet dark at the same time. As Gussie explains; "I guess that's us in a nutshell."

The band self-released their first EP O in 2014, which was a raw and enthralling DIY offering, recorded at drummer Abe's parents house. There was a focus on capturing the 'live' element of the songs, which has always been very important to Mermaidens' music. The tracks Wonder and Cold Skin were re-recorded for their debut album Undergrowth, as they were important pieces in the puzzle and the band felt they deserved a more polished and refined approach. The LP was released in 2016 and received critical acclaim and widespread interest.

Perfect Body features many of the familiar characteristics of the Mermaidens' sound, with twinkly, reverb-laden guitar lines, rich vocal harmonies and vibrant drums. They have expanded on these sounds, bringing in even more dynamic elements, building richer melodic layers and a wider range of guitar textures, as they explore different levels of dissonance. Each song bursts with energy and variety, with contrasting light and dark, and they've left space for mellow and brooding instrumentals underpinning a powerful vocal melody.

On Satsuma / Orange Coloured Vinyl.


1. Perfect Body
2. Sunstone
3. Lizard
4. Mind Slow
5. Smothering Possession
6. Satsuma
7. Give It Up
8. Fade
9. Artery
10. Don't Let It Get You

Watch Satsuma via Youtube