America's Child

America's Child cover $28.00 In stock with supplier
ETA: 4-7 business days
add to cart more by this artist

Shemekia Copeland
America's Child

[ Alligator Records / CD ]

We don’t have this item in our warehouse or stores at the moment, but the supplier has stock. We should be able to get it to you in 4 - 7 business days from when you order it.

The daughter of renowned Texas blues guitarist Johnny Copeland, Shemekia Copeland began making a splash in her own right before she was even out of her teens. Projecting a maturity beyond her years, Copeland fashioned herself as a powerful, soul-inflected shouter in the tradition of Koko Taylor and Etta James, yet also proved capable of a subtler range of emotions.


01 - Ain't Got Time For Hate
02 - Americans
03 - Would You Take My Blood?
04 - Great Rain
05 - Smoked Ham and Peaches
06 - The Wrong Idea
07 - Promised Myself
08 - In the Blood of the Blues
09 - Such a Pretty Flame
10 - One I Love
11 - I'm Not Like Everybody Else
12 - Go To Sleepy Little Baby