Peace Town

Peace Town cover
$28.00 Out of Stock
ETA: 4-7 business days
add to cart more by this artist

Jimmy LaFave
Peace Town

[ Music Road Records / 2 CD ]

Release Date: Friday 13 July 2018

We don’t have this item in our warehouse or stores at the moment, but the supplier has stock. We should be able to get it to you in 4 - 7 business days from when you order it.

"Peace Town," is a collection of final recordings made by the iconic singer, songwriter and song interpreter Jimmy LaFave.

Consisting of 20 tracks he was able to record before he died from myxofibrosarcoma, it represents his artistry as one of America's greatest voices.

The album includes a heart-wrenching take on "It Makes No Difference," Robbie Robertson song recorded by The Band. It's one of the tracks that reflect the depth and breadth of his seminal musical inspirations, including his takes on Chuck Berry's "The Promised Land" and "Let My Love Open the Door" by Pete Townshend of The Who.

Alongside time-tested reinterpretations of two of his own previously released compositions are three numbers LaFave composed to lyrics by his icon, Woody Guthrie, and his interpretations of material by his influences ranging from Chuck Berry to Pete Townshend of The Who to more of what All Music describes as his "fantastic work on Bob Dylan's songs" on three tracks. The set also includes nods to noted songwriters from Oklahoma - the state where LaFave came of age and started his career - like Leon Russell and J.J. Cale as well as selections from lesser-known but equally gifted writers whose talents he admired.

All told, Peace Town celebrates what All Music says was "the way he blended country, blues, folk, and early rock & roll, his work ethic, and his low-key rapport with fans were all factors that worked in his favor." And gave everything he recorded, as All Music also observed, "a stamp that is indelible. It's tattooed on the inside, on the heart where it belongs."


Disc One

1. Let My Love Open The Door
2. Minstrel Boy Howling At The Moon
3. Peace Town
4. What Good Am I
5. Help Me Through The Day
6. I May Be Used (But I Ain't Used Up)
7. My Back Pages
8. My Oklahoma Home
9. A Thousand By My Side
10. Already Gone

Disc Two

1. It Makes No Difference
2. Don't Go To Strangers
3. When The Thought Of You Catches Up With Me
4. Salvation Train
5. Ramblin' Sky
6. Sideline Woman
7. The Promised Land8. You're Gonna Make Me Lonesome When You Go
9. Untitled
10. Goodbye Amsterdam

When The Thought Of You Catches Up With Me