Aoxomoxoa (50th Anniversary)

Aoxomoxoa (50th Anniversary) cover
$40.00 Out of Stock
6+ weeks
add to cart more by this artist

Grateful Dead
Aoxomoxoa (50th Anniversary)

[ Rhino / Warner / 2 CD ]

Release Date: Friday 7 June 2019

This item is currently out of stock. It may take 6 or more weeks to obtain from when you place your order as this is a specialist product.

Aoxomoxoa: 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition includes two versions of the album - one fully remastered from the original 1969 recording, and the other remastered from the definitive 1971 band-produced mix. This is the first time both mixes have been presented together in a single release. Also included is a bonus disc with previously unreleased live music recorded January 24-26, 1969 at the Avalon Ballroom in San Francisco, CA. Newly remastered by Jeffrey Norman, these shows were among the first live performances ever to be recorded to 16-track tape.

An enigmatic classic, Aoxomoxoa is messy and murky, mysterious and majestic - a perfect time capsule that is still stubbornly resplendent a half century after it first appeared. The album introduced favourites like "St. Stephen" and "Mountains On The Moon," as well as "China Cat Sunflower" - a song that would continue to remain in the band's repertoire.

When these shows were recorded, the band members were: Jerry Garcia, Bob Weir, Ron "Pigpen" McKernan, Phil Lesh, Tom Constanten, Mickey Hart, and Bill Kreutzmann.


[CD1: Original 1969 Mix]
1. St. Stephen
2. Dupree's Diamond Blues
3. Rosemary
4. Doin' That Rag
5. Mountains On The Moon
6. China Cat Sunflower
7. What's Become Of The Baby
8. Cosmic Charlie / [1971 Remix]
9. St. Stephen
10. Dupree's Diamond Blues
11. Rosemary
12. Doin' That Rag
13. Mountains On The Moon
14. China Cat Sunflower
15. What's Become Of The Baby
16. Cosmic Charlie

[CD2: Avalon Ballroom, San Francisco (1/24-26/69)]
1. New Potato Caboose
2. Dupree's Diamond Blues
3. Doin' That Rag
4. Alligator
5. Caution (Do Not Stop On Tracks)
6. Feedback
7. And We Bid You Goodnight
8. Clementine
9. Death Don't Have No Mercy