Presents The Loop (Double Gatefold LP)

Presents The Loop (Double Gatefold LP) cover
$60.00 Low Stock add to cart more by this artist

Shafiq Husayn
Presents The Loop (Double Gatefold LP)

[ Eglo Records / 2 LP ]

Release Date: Friday 29 March 2019

Should this item be out of stock at the time of your order, we would expect to be able to supply it to you within 4 - 7 business days.

'The Loop' is the new LP by Los Angeles based polymath Shafiq Husayn, an epic project which saw its inception in 2012 through a series of studio sessions at Shafiq's home, including collaborations with the likes of Thundercat, Erykah Badu, Flying Lotus, Bilal and Anderson Paak.

Amongst a close knit circle of friends and family the golden tones of The Loop were created, deeply rooted in ideas of song, story, history, guidance and spirituality. The album bumps, jumps and jangles through progressions in jazz, hip hop, soul and funk, following on from his debut album 'Shafiq En' A- Free-Ka' and adding further to his rich history of timeless, unique music. On The Loop past, present and future are brought together through a psychedelic concoction of time traveling drum machines, celestial string sections and trails of synthesizer vapour. Inflections of Sly Stone, Pharaoh Sanders and Earth Wind And Fire traverse with Marley Marl and Dilla-esqe drums making for an organic yet LA-trifying experience.

Shafiq has brought together an impressive array of
LA's musical royalty, enlisting the likes of
Thundercat, Miguel Atwood-Ferguson, Kamasi
Washington, Chris 'Daddy' Dave, Eric Rico, Coultrain, Computer Jay, Jimetta Rose, Om'Mas Keith, Kelsey Gonzalez, I-Ced and more to provide the backbone to his recording sessions. Drawing in features from an international cast of performers and artists like Erykah Badu, Robert Glasper, Hiatus Kaiyote, Fatima and Karen Be amongst others.

Now complete and finally ready for release in 2019 The Loop is truly something to behold. The records is accompanied by a series of paintings by acclaimed Japanese visual artist Tokio Aoyama, who worked in tandem with Shafiq to create a painting for each song on the record.


Intro/The Flood 04:15
May I Assume 04:37
My-Story Of Love / Starring You 05:35
DMT (The Will) 03:07
Between Us 2 05:16
Mrs. Crabtree 05:23
On Our Way Home 05:37
Walking Round Town 03:19
Cycles 03:49
Message In A Bottle 03:36
It's Better For You 04:13
Show Me How You Feel 04:55
Hours Away 04:38
Twelve 04:12
Picking Flowers 03:47
Optimystical 04:36
New Worlds Over 04:41